December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bursts

by sam1373 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you traverse random dungeons and blast enemies, while also dodging their attacks.
You Only Get One second bursts of firing your weapon. You also only get one life per run.
Try to get as many points as possible before you die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#185Fun3.38
#238Mood3.18
#245Audio3.00
#306Overall3.25
#451Graphics3.00
#512Humor2.21
#521Theme2.82
#643Innovation2.68

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Fast paced, easy to play. Nice use of colors too.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

A fun little romp, and pretty challenging. The music is actually quite cheery and I like the boxes for the graphics, it works. The quickness of the gameplay keeps you engaged and makes for a fun playtime.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Couldn't seem to hit very easily but might be a computer difference. Very nice juicy visual effects and audio. Also impressed by the random level generation.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48am

Found the teleporting enemies to be a bit frustrating, and wish the mouse cursor was white instead of black, outside of that, incredibly fun, would love to see it expanded. Best game out of the 6-7 ld28 games I've played so far.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

Easy to play which makes it fun to play :3

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Hey, nice fast paced twin stick shooter! Would have liked it better if the crosshair was white, though.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

The crosshair is ab it difficult to see at times. It was way too hard for me which is sad because the gameplay feels very fluid!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Crosshair should be white :) It also dissappeared in my fifth run. But it's a very nice compilation of gameplay and music.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Neat! Easy and fun for short burst (see what I did there?)
A bit hard to control on my track pad though...

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45pm

This is pretty great, I don't like the shaking much, it makes the game quick annoying and sometimes it seemed like I lost without any enemy touching me.
Music and sfx are great and the fast pace is awesome

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

System is good. Simple but efficient.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

This seemed to run way too fast on my computer. Was far too hard for me.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The title made me laugh. Fun and simple game.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Simple and fast. I liked the smooth movement. Quite challenging. Had trouble hitting the enemies, but might just be my aim that is bad.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Great game! Really addicting! Cool graphics and music!
Gameplay is fluid but for me attacking didn't really work. Enemies were too fast for attacking. Great job! :)

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :)

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:28am

This is very very well done! Nice graphics, nice sounds and music. It really makes fun! Overall a nice game :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:37am

Man, I really like the simple, elegant visual design on this game. Mouse cursor was pretty hard to see though and the enemies were fairly brutal.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48am

Pretty cool, the cursor hiding was a little annoying and the whole game seemed a little difficult, but It didn't take me long to improve, which made it pretty satisfying. Nicely polished, good job.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Really cool graphics. And the gameplay is pretty original, I like the idea of the one second bursts. Clever and fun, with good graphics and sound.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nice game :D, it would be better if the crosshair was white

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:45pm

An interesting shooter. Quite odd how it gets easier the mre you play sinc eyou have more rooms to escape to, after a bit you get a new dungeon so I guess you will experience fighting in one room over and over.

Would be nice if the game had an ending of some sort or other goal that is not score. The different enemies all seem to rely on short bursts in speed to kill you and it get kind of annoying quickly, more variety would be nice and less relying on being extremely close and using some instant movement trick.

The difference in hp between mobs seemed to be huge, some took 10 hits to kill some got killed in one. If this is because the difficulty of aiming or that the actual hp is higher I don't know. If it is because of hp the range of the hp should be made smaller. Overall the maxhp should probably be lowered.

The actual level made very little difference to the gameplay, it could as well have jumped the player to a new room every time. If you have alevel like this you should use it for something such as powerups hidden or different difficulty on the rooms.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:05pm

One of that games that looks much much better in dynamics than on screenshots. Good work. :)

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Extremely addicting, fast paced and loads of fun!
The sensitivity was quite high, and the cursor was a bit hard to find, but other than that, great game!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:22pm

It's a decent game for what it is. The controls and enemy paths feel right, with "juice" like the screen shakes, and I like the dungeon system. But yeah, the cursor should stand out from the darkness, and you should indicate how many shots enemies can take. Some non-programmer graphics/audio would make this more appealing.

Also, it bugged for me once and I got a completely empty map. Can't replicate that one.

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Good control..but I died very fast)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Really simple yet addictive gameplay and the randomly generated rooms adds a lot of replayability. The black crosshair is quite difficult to see though.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Loved it! I'm a sucker for particles, and camera shake so there's that, but everything seemed to work together very well! Well done!

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:50am

Definitely too hard for me (I only have a trackpoint device) but the graphics, gameplay and pace are great. There’s a Hotline Miami feel to it :)

Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Fast paced ! It's challenging a lot I like it !

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice movement and effects, felt good to play but very difficult! The music is really fitting too and the mazes are cool. Ability to set mouse sensitivity would have been great

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]