December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Incomplete

by Erkberg - Jam Entry

"Incomplete" is a point and click adventure in which you have to make the right choices to become a better human being.
God has punished you for living your live in a bad way and thus took away several body parts of yours.
Get them back by being a good person or continue your way and suffer the consequences.

Features: 4 different adventure screens, Cutscenes, Multiple endings

Controls: Use the mouse to click objects and combine them

Tools used: Construct 2, Photoshop, LMMS, bfxr

Team:
Erik Schulze (code/audio, me)
Mirko Schulze (graphics, http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/ketzer/)

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Humor(Jam)3.30
#194Theme(Jam)3.02
#294Graphics(Jam)3.13
#317Fun(Jam)2.73
#329Mood(Jam)2.74
#349Overall(Jam)2.91
#366Audio(Jam)2.48
#385Innovation(Jam)2.53

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31am

Reminds me of the old point-and-clicks like Monkey Island. Some of the solutions are as unexpected as they are in those games.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01am

Fairly decent idea. Was amused (caught off guard) by the humour.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

An interesting take on the theme! The soundtrack looped too often and quickly got repetitive, though.

grimgraybeard says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38am

Very good job. I like the alternative endings. And the fact that the mainchar can do all thoose things in his condition. I tried to imagine some of the actions he did with 1 hand and 1 leg and couldnt keep me from laughing.

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Hey buddies! Nice puzzle game ;) for me it feels more like that than a p&c. I think compared to your last LD-game it is a big improvement. But I would've loved some animations or some visual feedback on what I selected at the moment. At first I didn't realize how to control the scene. Altogether it's pretty humorous and morally valuable and the sound effects are cool, especially the scorpion *cute* :3

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59am

I like the concept but despite trying every possible combination of objects, I couldn't pass the second screen. Even the first was very difficult, I've never seen someone fell a tree with a hammer so I wasn't expecting that. The shoe was a red herring?

Erkberg says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

I added a walkthrough for anyone who gets stuck. About that hammer thing: If you just click a tree, it says that you can't kick it. This should lead the player to the idea of using something else to shake the tree. And yes, the shoe is only there for distraction.
We were a little short on time, so we could not add too much in terms of animations. There are some particles and moving objects though to make the screens a little less static.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:49am

Not bad for a 72h adventure game. I have to say though, I'm disappointed that the missing/restored limb has no effect on the gameplay or even the story, it just seems there to relate to the theme.

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Simple and fun. Really liked the story in the beginning! :)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Like the idea, some of the puzzles are more about luck than everything else but utilizing the walk through it is quite cool :)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:43am

I found the mocking tone of the narrator kind of off-putting. Some of the combinations were so random (tent + net, for example) that I didn't really see a way through other than trying to combine every single thing and getting mocked while doing it.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:30am

nice hand made graphics.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Really funny actually! The graphics and audio really step it up and actually make the game very good :) 5/5 Graphics and Audio ;)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I like this riddle game :) Funny, but difficult

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:42am

It was a cool puzzle game,.
I liked the graphic and story (especially the take on the theme), it was unexpected and funny.

Contrary to some of the other comments, I found the riddle quite logical and not especially difficult, but I was raised on 90's point 'n click which really made you go for crazy combinations.

The music is a bit repetitive indeed a bit more variety, or a longer loop, would have been enjoyable.

Nice realisation overall, great effort, and congratulations on completing a game in 72hours !

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:14pm

I managed to get all the good endings. The text background flashing on and off while playing was a bit distracting, and I didn't see many ties to the theme, but I enjoyed playing through. Cute graphics.

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:02am

Like the idea, some of the puzzles were pretty nice.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Liked it!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Pretty enjoyable adventure and I loved the subtle humour.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I liked the drawings and the music! But I felt that the transitions were a bit slow. Also, I lost a lot of time on the "Desert" stage because I didn't realize there was a "Way" object :-)

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

PS: a woman as a prize, really?

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I like the setup: very original use of the theme. The game itself is kind of a standard adventure game, but with solid puzzles. It would have been cool if your lack of limbs played a larger part in the puzzles, though (I did get a bit of "I can't do that with only one arm" in the first level, but that's about it). The graphics are pretty good, with nice swirly star effects. The writing is funny.

The difficulty feels about right. Would have been nice to have a better interface and a more natural way to progress (without having to, say, click on "way" to finish a level), but all that would probably have been hard to implement within the timeframe. Having a way to skip through cutscene dialogue would be good as well.

Typo: "therefor" should be "therefore"

SPOILER


I like how you allowed "good" and "evil" solutions for some of the levels. That shows an extra level of polish.

y2bd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Gotta love point and click adventure games, especially funny ones! I feel though that my disabilities didn't really hamper my progress through the puzzles.

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

It's a well made game, but again I really don't like the idea that God made people crippled for punishment (or trial, whatever). What would a person with some natural disability think of this? Their inability is not because of their karma.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I enjoy the visuals and mood however I found myself falling into a pattern of just clicking on an object combination at random though. I am not that familiar with point and click adventures, so maybe this is standard, but for me I would like to feel like I can use logic or observation to figure things out a bit more. Or maybe I am just illogical :p

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Quite a bit of content for a jam! And funny too :) Some of the combinations were a little abstract, and the music didn't fit for me, but great entry overall.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]