December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Hero

by Sertkaya - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Making game for this theme is diffuclt for me, and I can only make %10 of the game that I want to make. Anyway, its my first successful ludum dare afterall.

Edit: I made some improvments to the game, but don't expect a miracle. It's still same game with bugs and boring gameplay. At least, much playable now. And oh, yes I added source code for the intrested people. You might need to set path to the libraries that I use in "lib" folder. A little note: I used my main language (Turkish) for the values, classes's names and functions ect. It could difficult to understand code for people that uses different languge. Sorry for input mistakes and bad english.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Fun3.09
#451Graphics3.00
#491Overall3.00
#498Theme2.86
#616Mood2.60
#799Innovation2.41
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

Congrats on finishing it!
It could be a base for a nice, bigger game. :)

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I think it's nice and funny. Love the graphics and idea.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44am

I like that you have to choose 1 hero among 1 hero(s?), theme 5/5 humor 5/5 :)

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Congratulations, it's a very very nice start! :D

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice one! Especially for the first ludum dare.
It's simple, but still entertaining and really sucks in.
Keep up the good work!

madlee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:53pm

well done. I would like to have seen some variety in the enemies, but even as is its fun enough.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:55pm

That's a cool idea, and the execution is good, but I think that the choices should have more impact on the hero abilities. For example, when you add boots, you could feel that your hero is really faster. Perhaps with rarer new level ups. There could be more feedbacks too ! (a stronger weapon is bigger, or it's impact on ennemies bigger too ^^)
The project basis is good, and you keep being in the thematic, but it could go really much further !

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:31pm

This game has great potential to improve.

The gameplay in its current state is not too interesting, just running around the room while clicking furiously. Different enemies with a variety of attacks and movement patterns can fix this. Also having multiple attacks for each hero could help as well.

It was frustrating whenever the enemies spawned right next to the hero; there was not enough time to react before taking damage. Since the hole appears in a single position, you could use that position and have the enemies spawn at least a certain distance away.

You may have had some of these things already planned, but I'd thought I'l suggest them anyway. Great start on the game! Make sure to have fun, and congratulations on your first finish!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Very well done for your first successful entry! You've got the pixel graphics nailed down and the mechanics are simple but fun, now you just need to add more content :). (And sound, don't forget sound!)

Jacic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I love the idea! Sound/music and an indication of how much life is left would make it absolutely amazing!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Wasn't too sure what the boots were for, although later I presumed speed.

Also wasn't sure what the hole in the ground was for either.

The animations were nice.

pele says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Simple and fun but a little too repetitive. You can't feel the effects of the upgrades very well. Maybe displaying the enemy's life would help you feel your improvement over time.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:35am

Neat game, when i entered thee third level it spawned two enemies right on me and I instantly died.
The theme kind of seems secondary to this one since there is only one character, how is it different than any other game?
In other words the "choice" doesnt seem meaningful.

Ghostteam016 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice and good game but I want to develop this game and finish all parts (music, story, particals maybe more enemy and item)

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Could do with some sound but this has a lot of potential. I liked the graphics and the gameplay is pretty solid.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]