December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

youGOO! - a webcam game

by thebrainfuse - Jam Entry

TLDR:
Raise fist when it is '1' to score,
For other numbers, you lose points.


A Kinect style webcam game, made for the Ludum Dare 28.
Utilizes Javascript, HTML5.

Works best with Chrome
(preferably the Canary version - needs WebRTC).

///Objective\\\

A constantly shifting number bounces around the screen.

Starting with 100 points,
you have to place (and detect) your fist onscreen
when it becomes '1' to score.

Fist detection in all other instances reduces points.

When the score becomes 0 or less,
GAME OVER MAN!

///Detection\\\

Try positioning your fist as you see in the screenshot.
If your fist is detected, a green square appears around it.

I have tested out only my own fist, so it may take some trial-and-error to get it right.
I also found out that it is best to have just the fist on-screen (your face,etc should be off-screen),
with an uncluttered background.

///Strategy\\\

Don't place your fist at all for numbers other than 1.
When it turns 1, quickly lift and drop your fist.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#4Innovation(Jam)4.20
#230Theme(Jam)2.87
#293Humor(Jam)2.24
#410Fun(Jam)2.48
#423Overall(Jam)2.70
#440Mood(Jam)2.35
#451Audio(Jam)1.78
#512Graphics(Jam)2.00

Comments

Gjarble says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16am

Seems like a brilliant idea. However, on the Web version (I'm using a Mac, so I can't play the Windows version), I'm getting an error saying "WebRTC not available." For the record, I'm using Chrome as recommended. It worked at first, but with a ~5 second lag. I then got the error after closing the rest of my applications and refreshing the page (in an attempt to reduce the lag), and the error still happens no matter how many times I refresh/restart Chrome.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

Thank you for your kind words!...
I got that error too when i was fiddling around... it usually occurs when the webcam stream is active on another window.
Make sure that all windows are closed, then try again.
Let me know if that works.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

I'm looking into other common causes for this error now... will fix if it turns out to be a bug... thanks for notifying me.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

Gjarble, just a thought... haven't tested on a mac, so maybe you could try other browsers (safari, firefox, opera, if available)?

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

<FACEPALM> Safari and IE do not support WebRTC yet... please try Chrome Canary...
https://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/browser/canary.html?platform=mac

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17am

It worked for me! Cool to see a very different approach to user input. The fist detection seemed to work well enough. Could use some more features maybe, like using the position of your fist in the game somehow.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:51am

@mtinkerhess: that was my original plan :-)... but the detection was not good enough to use for collision, so came up with this approach in the final minutes... going forward, i'm planning to improve on this, maybe include even two hands...

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Interesting idea, unfortunately the detection does not work well here. I will try this on other computers, I'm interested.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

@lilinx: try directing your fist outwards like you see in my screenshot... of course maybe its my game's limitation, since i have tested only my own fist!...

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

It seems to work somehow, but the game just sporadically detects a fist although it looks exactly as on your screenshot. Nice idea, but seems to be technically to complicated.

Gjarble says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Follow-up: I tried it again, and it works now. The lag was significantly lower, but still about 1 second, which means the 1 has usually changed to something else by the time it detects my fist. I then tried it on my (Android) phone, which worked much better!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

@Gjarble: really appreciate it, thanks for playing again! Right now, the number randomizer is set to change every 1.5 seconds... i could tweak it to be 2 or 3, but i'm wondering if it will detract from the challenge...

LPGhatguy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I had a little bit of an issue with fist detection, but I do really like the concept.

somepx says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Works fine on Chrome - an impressive webcam tech demo ;)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Baww. No Camera. :(

eskivor says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I like the concept, but I don't success to catch the 1 in time. I don't know how exactly the detection works.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

It's very difficult to play! The hand position is not draw...

x70x says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

I really wanted this to work based on the screenshots and description, but I just couldn't seem to be detected accurately. Interesting idea though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:30am

Not too bad. Nice job getting any kind of image recognition for a game jam. It would be nice to be able to see when the number would be about to change, or something like that.
Also, the graphics are extremely realistic!

havana24 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

Really difficult to play but nice concept and implementation! :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

It could have been really great but after initially loosing some points it seemed as the game lost interest in my hand. I'm not sure if it would be easier but what if the objective was to poke the 1s with an extended finger?

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:58pm

for people finding it difficult, i understand... its only been properly tested on a few fists, and it also depends on your webcam and system specs... i'm grateful for you guys trying it out, and taking your time to provide feedback... i guess i have to put in a calibration system as a prologue, to get the detection absolutely right...

Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

cool idea, innovation 5/5, but too difficult to play, im really frustrated. HAHAHA great job.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:18pm

On Creative LiveCam ChatHD game work fine ;)
Great idea! For innovation 10/10 ;D

PS. I want to see timelapse from game develop time ^^

larb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Really cool entry. This is so much different from the other LD entries.

I also had difficulty getting my first to detect properly.

Maybe add a free mode? Where you can just move your fist around, so I can figure out how to place my fist so I can figure out how to get it detected.

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Awesome idea!
It would be nice, if you had added some kind of "tutorial", where the player could train to "do the fist right" :D Though I was able to punch (sorry, for the pun) my score over 3000, the fist recognition didn't work perfectly for me. At some points a shadow behind me was recogniced for a little moment, while my fist was ignored sometimes. Don't get me wrong, I don't want to badmouth the game in any way! I'm impressed, that the recognition works up to that degree, it does at the moment! Respect for that :)
Great work!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

Thanks guys for your awesome reviews and suggestions... definitely working on personalizing detection before beginning the game...

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

@psc1997: sorry dude... did not think about LD properly enough to set-up a timelapse... will keep that in mind for next time!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:57am

Cool idea -- really annoying that I had to refresh and re-auth the webcam every time, though (chrome). Would like some sort of menu/restart.

Would also be good to have a config screen where i can hold up my fist (though that might be hard to code up in a weekend).

The detection seemed a little slow (maybe too close?) and I always seemed to get false positives while moving my fist offscreen. Would be good to have some sort of buffer after a positive recognition to give you time to get out of the camera view.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Technically impressive.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:13am

hahahah wow cool game, interesting idea! great work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]