December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Destroy The Blocks (V: 1.3 Alpha)

by mclordalex - Jam Entry

*****INSTALLING PROBLEMS/SOLUTIONS*****
When you install it dont run it right away as that might not work but add a desktop icon and run as admin and it should work sorry if this causes a problem to any of you....
*****INSTRUCTIONS*****
When you start press "S" For the ball/bullet to start moving.
You can you "A" or "D" Keys to move or Left and Right Arrow Keys whatever suits you more. "ESC" to EXIT And by exit I mean stop the game completely. And that should be it. You also start in Full Screen but if you hit the bottom you are no longer in full screen and that is a bug I can not fix but I consider it as a loss of something. This is my first ever LudumDare and I hope my game turns out to be pretty good. I used GameMakerStudio to make this (Free Version) And so there is not alot of levels and I dont think I will get a perfect score on Graphics but you know I did this as fast as I can because I dont want to spend 3 days making it. I hope you all enjoy it and if so rate it good for my first. Thanks for reading this and I might try Java Coding for the next LudumDare hope you enjoy my game and Marry Christmas to you all :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#318Humor(Jam)2.15
#464Audio(Jam)1.59
#481Mood(Jam)2.09
#492Fun(Jam)2.08
#521Theme(Jam)1.86
#528Graphics(Jam)1.83
#536Overall(Jam)2.05
#537Innovation(Jam)1.81

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

No pictures?

mclordalex says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11am

I am getting some pictures soon sorry for that...

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58am

Woo finished it!
Nice dynamics and it's quite fun.

mclordalex says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Thanks hope you enjoyed it :D

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Quite a good game. I enjoy this type of game and found it quite fun, well done :) Only thing i would say is to make the block fall a bit faster

mclordalex says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Ok got it sadly that might be later on because of problems with game maker but good to here you like it :D

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:46am

This is a fun little breakout game :) Next time, it would help to give the player a little more feedback about what they're doing (sound effects, sparks, etc) when you are doing something in the game.

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49am

Took me a few times to get the hang of the game play. Once I got it, I made it all the way to the end. The "ball" could go a little quicker maybe. I found it easier to play when it went out of full screen. Good work!

mclordalex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20am

Thanks ryangatts and insane66 for the feedback I know about the ball think and that was a mistake sorry... and the sound, effects, sparks, etc sorry about that too ill make sure to do that next time a make a game hope you enjoyed the most out of it!!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:08am

Not bad. Pretty simple but solid stuff.

mclordalex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:08am

Thanks for the good feedback :D

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17am

The thing about a Breakout game is that you need to make sure the player can apply an angle to the ball no matter what; after a few bounces, my ball was going straight up and down and I could do nothing to change it.

mclordalex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:56am

Ok sorry about that I saw that later on in the game as well and I do agree maybe the next game I make (Not going to be like this one maybe) there will not be a problem thats like that...

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:32am

nice little breakout-style game you got here, keep at it dude!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:23am

Nice dynamics / game ! I only played one minute, I'll take my time later :)

mclordalex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Thanks dremelofdeath and Ekilibr for the feedback I hope you enjoyed very much :D

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46am

Great stuff!

mclordalex says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:36am

Thanks for such good feedback to all of you :D

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:17am

Interesting game.. Hard to track where you used the theme, though.

mclordalex says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

Yes the theme I forgot 100% about sorry for that :(

oxysoft says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:57am

Abysmal mechanics, the game is horribly boring, the music on the front screen was pretty bad and having a windows message box show up when the ball hits the bottom was a bad design idea because it breaks the full screen. And why is there a link to your youtube channel?

mclordalex says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:49am

Oxysoft this is my first ever game and first ludumdare so its not gonna be 100% Wounderful so please dont leave mean feedback but I do understand some of it what you mean and my youtube channel is up there because well I dont really know my friend was with me when I did it and told me to do so.

gene-z says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Interesting and original,,

mclordalex says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:48am

Thanks gene-z for the feedback and yes I had the thought old in my mind soooooo hope you really liked it :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

Seems like you have troubles with collisions detection ))
But game is great ))

mclordalex says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

Yes 01refael i agree but when I was testing it in the engine (I tested it like 300 times!!) it seemed fine I think something got tampered with but who knows...

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Simple game. Not many bugs. Nice job.

mclordalex says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Thanks joppiesaus I played alot of times before uploading it there are a few but you know every game has at least 1 bug in it.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:54am

Fun little game bro! :D great work :D

mclordalex says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 3:45am

Thanks NICE and thanks for rating it I was happy for what the income was Thanks

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]