December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one to exit

by OtherAlexy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The swarm of fairy follows a floating eye to reach the exit. Press any key to float up. Do not press anything to float down. The walls are not threat to eye, but to fairyes.

EDIT: thanks for comments. I add some instructions and progress indicator.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#538Innovation2.85
#640Theme2.61
#712Audio1.83
#750Humor1.60
#916Fun2.12
#917Mood1.71
#921Graphics1.97
#925Overall2.40

Comments

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Solid and simple but too little content to stay fun for some minutes.

Some notes:
- Too blurred
- Sound was too late
- Instructions not clear enough: "press any key" sounded like "press any key to start game". I failed twice before getting the controls.

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Nice concept. I like it

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Instructions always help - even if you don't have time to put them in your game, put them on your game submission.

It also seemed weird that I could die from bursting through walls that seem like they would have collision.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:12pm

It's not obvious what you're supposed to do in the game. Took me a bit to figure it out.

Jacic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very simple, but perhaps too simple. An interesting idea though.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19pm

HINT: Use SPACE to keep the orb floating, try to make sure fairies don't crash into walls/obstacles.

Wow, this is incredibly hard! Some instructions would've helped! But the concept is really cool, and I like the swarm mechanic you've got going there!

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Ooh, I like the mechanics of this game. A bit like herding cats. Points for originality.
the graphics were weird, as if I was watching a VCR recording of a computer game from the 80's (hang on: that must be it!)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I don't know why but I like it. It seems to be a little addictive. ;-)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I sucked really bad at playing this but I enjoyed the concept... good work. :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Cute graphics and simple concept I liked it was really pixely cause of upscaling.

tompudding says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Great idea, but it is really hard! Some kind of a score would helped to motivate, as well as an indication of how long was left.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Graphics were a bit weird but this was a really cool twist on an avoidance game (I have no actual idea what they're really called). Pretty addictive too.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

Good idea ;)

Sebastian says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:37pm

I like the idea, very tough!

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Nice little game! Enjoyed it!

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Interesting concept, although maybe the swarm swayed too much, I never made it further than a few seconds. Still, nice idea.

timothyolt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great concept, a bit hard to control though. The menu graphics could be a bit less blurred, but I liked how the blur worked on the level. Also making the goal of the game more obvious would not hurt.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:36pm

The gameplay is kind of hard but is fun! i kind of don't like the bluri graphics but its ok, Great work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]