December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Sky

by Kep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only have one planet... and there is only One Sky.

You are a cloud and the caretaker of this little planet. Your job is to keep it healthy by collecting water from the oceans and then growing plants with rain.

Oh... there may also be some settlements popping up, you can ignore those, they're probably harmless... <.<

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#151Innovation3.51
#386Theme3.10
#429Overall3.09
#462Mood2.82
#499Graphics2.93
#549Fun2.79
#629Humor1.95

Comments

Vectorizing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58am

I think this game is really neat! Loved the graphics!! Great job.

gman1012 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

Really Cool Idea.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

i really loved this concept. well done in such a short amount of time! the one cloud aspect was neat. i think controls could be tweaked to make it easier to get around the planet but overall neat entry

gman1012 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

After Playing Around With This Some More, I Like All The Strategy that you develop in trying to keep the planet from being taken over.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

The graphics are cute.
It would be fun if the player could do more different things.
PS: The thematic is similar to my game. Planet vs people.

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Thanks guys. I'm just a programmer and hastily drew most of the art myself. You have my permission to laugh at it. :)

@mcapraro, I agree the controls could be improved. I may eliminate right click and just have left click not move the cloud if it was a drag.

@kunzbe, yep, I had the idea of adding a lighting power so you could damage settlements, but time is short. Maybe it will be in the sequel.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:11pm

It reminds me a lot of Reus. Admittedly I didn't quite understand what I was supposed to do initially, and didn't realise there were buildings on the opposite side of the globe! But I made a nice little forest, made it grow quite big and then decided to see what happens when you lose.
Sadly nothing really happened :(

It's very interesting though, the idea of only getting one earth and not wasting it is also quite topical for our age.
Thanks for the experience.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Cool idea, felt it needed a little bit of audio, but it isn't detrimental to the gameplay. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

If only I could rain thunderbolts and unleash terrible storms against those foolish settlers!!! Nice idea, would you think on a post-compo version?

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Looks like the mini version of GodFinger for iOS. Good overall implementation in less than 48 hours!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very interesting and innovative!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Very interesting game! Neat stuff. The only thing I really think the game misses, is a good relaxing soundtrack and a few simple sounds when things grow. Overall a good entry though!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Solid game, very unique gameplay. Made the mistake of watering the civilizations the first time.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Good job, I really loved the game !

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I. Love. This. Game.

It's so simple, at yet a lovely idea and so well executed in the 48 hours. :p

Only complain is the lack of sound, but I can get over that easy by listening to my own music c:

And by the way, is 636304 a good score? :p

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Great concept! I wish I could make some hail and damage those settlements. :) Well done.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Didn't stick around long enough to see the ending, but nice concept. It feels like... waiting for the houses to dominate the earth would take too long. It's neat that the flowers / grass disappears after a while, but there should be another incentive than just "surviving". A level-based game with this game mechanic might of worked well.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

After playing your game I can say it might be fun to be a cloud. I think it would enhance game play to make it level-based with a goal for each level. Still, I enjoyed playing around with this one.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Interesting concept ! Hope to see a post version with even more features :)

ashen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:51am

Really original idea for a fun strategy game. Rotation mechanic is really well done and the graphics well suited. Excellent.

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:12am

Interesting art style, very unique.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:13am

Great little game :D Love it to see things grow... gfx is nice gameplay is smooth...

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:49am

It was hard to tell how what I was doing was having any effect. Often settlements would just pop up in the middle of forests? I don't quite get it.
Interesting though, and the art wasn't too bad, don't worry.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:52am

Seems it's inevitable you'll run out of plant space, and have all settlements, there wasn't much of a challenge or progression to it.

I liked the way you moved around the planet, and had the cloud zoom around.

351476 was my score.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:43am

It's a cool entry. It's similar to mine in theme. So it's fun to see how we fleshed things out differently. I would like to have more clouds, and more kinds of controls. But I can't really say anything, and you'll know why after you play my game :)

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:46am

Wow - really complex for a 48h job! Nice mechanics, impressive

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:32am

Cool game. I like how I could zoom in to see everything so cleary. Planet got all taken over by settlers though ;_;

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:40pm

I've seen this concept a few times before, but it's nicely executed.
Maybe you could expand a bit on it, some more variation and maybe ways to get rid of those pesky humans?

Xavier says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice idea. Missed some audio and better graphics :)

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:01am

Thanks for your constructive comments on my game Kep. I'll have to follow your advice!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very cool game, love the round level design. Took me a while to realize that I was actually competing with civilization for the planet. I really enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]