December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbit

by TwitchSeventeen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move and space to interact with objects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Mood3.07
#603Overall2.88
#618Theme2.65
#648Innovation2.67
#684Fun2.59
#696Graphics2.53
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I like the setting and ideas. Good level design, I failed about one step before getting into the module! Will have to try that again.

Ako says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

This was great! You should keep working on this after the jam. It could use a counter for the number of fuel packs you have picked up and a count down to the meteor hit. I was actually really stressed during re-entry! ;) Am I gonna make it??? Yes!!! I did die the first time though. So impressive! My entry is so simple but I'm new to coding and did what I could. I'm using C2 also so I'll see you on the Scirra forums! Congrats!!!

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Nice atmosphere on the re-entry section!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I enjoyed exploring the space station, well done on your game

foumart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Hi, nice sci-fi mood you got here. Looks like I landed well and survived the incident. If you're interested please check my entry too, we share kind of similar themes.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

This worked better in Chrome than Firefox, I don't know why, but Firefox did not display the text.

I do agree that a counter on the number of tanks we have collected would have been a plus.

Congratulation on making a game in the time constraint of the LD ;)

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Nice work, I liked the tweening between movement directions rather than snapping... I died fairly quickly on the reentry part, as I didn't know where I was supposed to be facing, and it kept jumping really far away from down - which is where I assumed it was supposed to be...

Kyatric says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:15am

Just to notify, the text display is either a C2 bug, either a FF bug on Win7, not something related to the coding of this game itself.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:34am

I always like interactive stories. I was hoping the story would carry on a bit longer. A couple suggestions:

Having to click to hide the dialog box took away from the gameplay. I'd suggest changing it to a keyboard key.
When the ship was falling and changing angles, its movements were jagged. I'd suggest tweening the movements. The lerp() expressions is a quick solution.

Congratulations on participating. I hope to see you in LD29.

Crabman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:23pm

A bit more audiovisual feedback would be nice, but I suppose that's due to the time constraints. :) Worked fine for me in FF 26 btw.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Enjoyed playing it! Good Game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]