December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stock Market Simulator

by Moochoomon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game requires the latest version of Java to run.

This game is a stock market simulator. In the game, you start out with 1 dollar and you have exactly 1 year to make as much money as you can.

I thought this idea game would fit with the theme because You Only Get One dollar at the start and You Only Get One year to make as much money as possible.

If there are any issues, contact me at moochooco@gmail.com.

EDIT: Thanks to Eric, I decided to replace the button presses with an input dialog box. It is now much less tedious to buy and sell 'stock'.

EDIT 2: I noticed that this game sometimes freezes your computer and some people have to force restart. I think this has to do with people not having the latest version of java. If anybody knows how to fix this problem, please feel free to comment the problem.

EDIT 3: I think the problem was the thread not taking a sleep time. I added a sleep time as it "crashed" computers, so hopefully it fixes the crashing...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Theme3.39
#248Innovation3.28
#267Fun3.22
#598Overall2.89
#659Mood2.53
#977Graphics1.56
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

Eric says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 10:38pm

This game is awesome. Only suggestion i have is instead of just a button you have to click a million times have some kind of input box that you can type the amount you want to sell

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:38am

I love mangment games, I think that is great that you make this in less and 48h, you should play gazillionaire i think that is a great example of this type of game.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Froze my computer. Had to force restart. Massive pain in the ass.

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17am

Woah you're game is also a stock market. I'll have to come back to it when I have the time.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Nice idea, and it was fun, but the dialogue box was very slow, sometimes taking up to a minute to respond.

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Also froze my computer. Windows 8 64 bit, `java -version` reports "1.7.0_13". Maybe it has to do with the way you packaged it?

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

Your OSX links to the Windows version. =(

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

I liked the idea. However, I couldn't play long at all because it froze my computer. Good idea, however!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

You can't run an exe file on a Mac.

Arcantic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38am

Yeah just like everyone else, froze computer had to restart. As someone who also developed theirs in Java, I have no idea how you managed that haha.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

From what I saw, this is a great game! Very cool concept for my as I LOVE stocks. Cool and usable interface. Although it says my game is running at 59-85FPS, the game won't register input after the menu screen and I have to force quit it via task manager. Keep it up!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

hahahaha, very cool :)

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:17pm

The game unfortunately completely froze my computer, also had to restart.

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

This game worked ok for me on 64-bit Windows 7. Completed the 365 days. Reminds me of games I used to play on my Ti-83+ in school.

KayZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Minor nitpick: A trading year only has ~252 days. And some kind of Thread.sleep() in your game loop could be useful to prevent it from freezing computers.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:20am

nice idea, but it has some bugs:
- for some reason, it gave me much more money than I expected when I sold some stocks, resulting in the immediate possibility to buy hundreds of the most expensive ones and making the game too easy
- sometimes I can't read how many stocks I have because the text is behind the buttons!

SimonRhys says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:24am

Awesome game! Enjoyed the feeling of power as I made millions, if only it was that easy in real life :(

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:29am

I made 235000$ in a week ! If only I had a printer to print all that nice money :P

Great concept, I like the idea to start with only 1 $

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice game and concept about having just 1 dollar to climb all the way up to become billionaire in 1 year XD

I have made only 96,737,396... but if this game were to be real, that would be over-powered lol.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

So much fun! Love the concept, pretty awesome, had a lot of fun, thanks!

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:34am

Hehe, got to 8*10^12$ or so, the end screen just displays the maximum value of a 32 bit integer (2 147 483 647). I guess I shouldn't have been able to buy 1*10^9 shares (maybe the max here is also 2 147 483 647) of MeTube at 1$ and sell them the next day for 50$ a pop ;).

Interesting game, although I think I cheated. There could be a lot of depth in this, if you wished to take it into that direction. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]