December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Gems

by d__adee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one item a time. Earn points by bringing gem to your gem box.

CONTROLS:
arrow keys and space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#95Theme3.67
#99Graphics3.88
#114Fun3.52
#121Overall3.59
#259Innovation3.27
#302Mood3.07
#360Humor2.57
#531Audio2.43

Comments

Snuti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:16am

So hard to find the gem box and escape the enemies. I did reach level 2 a few times. Evil enemies :P Really cool concept. :)

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50am

Love it. Similar to Link and Binding of Isaac. This game gives you random generated levels every time you start a new game. This game has really great potential. Superb graphics and the animation is very solid. But the enemies are too fast but this gives a good challenge to the player.

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Voted!

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:10pm

really hard. didn't make it any further than level 2 so far. but will try again later.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:25pm

This is really good and really, really hard.
Can you even kill the enemies with the sword?
Very addicting though!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Very positive game, fun to play, but those bees! Nasty! :)

d__adee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

@all
Thanks for playing guys! :D

@jedt1201
Thanks! :D It's actually inspired by those two games. And thanks for voting!

@Lorenzo Maierú
Yes you can! (depends on which sword and which enemy) :D
But the best option is to just run. xD

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very tricky to master, but I really liked the idea. Maybe if enemies had a proximity detection then you could step into a room and think about your approach.

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

You have a talent for creating horror games!

The graphics are very cute. You have a unique art style. I didn't fancy the white borders, though. They made the images look like they were cut out.

The item-trade game mechanic suits the theme perfectly. I might borrow it. =)

The sound effects were adequate but I was a little disappointed that there was no music.

I would like to play a full version on Android someday.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

HAHA! this game is actually really well done (polished)! GJ d__adee :). You def accomplished your goal of proc-gen :). It was super hard though. played it about 15 times and the highest score I got was 2 gems XD.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Super game! At first it was really frustrating to get started, but once I got the hang of it, I realized how amazing it is.
Even though I read your tweets, the procedural gen caught me off guard. Well done!! (:

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Cool idea but I think the gem box should have been in the starting room, I always had a rough time finding it. The concept is neat and the graphics are nice, I just think some tweaks would have made it even better.

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

@all
Thanks again for playing everyone! :)

@Nik
Noted. :D

@Gnerkus
Thank you! :)
And yes, you can borrow the idea. There was no time to make my music so I have not added any, sorry. But yes, I'll make it into a full game :D

@Teddy
lol! Thank you! And yes, I'm proud of myself I made proc gen to work which I haven't done before.

@Zanz
Thank you!

@Sink
Noted. Will rework on this and make it into a full game. :)


Thank you all for your feedback!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Wow, very difficult! It seems that the sword only kills bees, other enemies don't seem to be hurt by it or they have crazy amount of hp. I feel this has potential, graphics are really nice, but the enemies could be slower and be easier to deal with.

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

@AdventureIslands
Thanks for playing. :)

Actually you can defeat enemies that are same colour as the sword. There are three different swords in game.
:D

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Really fun to play, although it would be nice to be able to retry where you messed up, rather than have to start a brand new map. Nice clean visuals make it easy to understand. The different weapons affecting different monsters was a nice touch too.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Great job! A little difficult though - I think a slight delay in the enemies when you enter a room would help a lot. LOVE the art style - black background is not an obvious choice, but it's very effective :)

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Overall, congratulations for the work.
Even if the concept is really simple but is quite well implemented.
As I said, I had some fun playing your game but something bothered me. It is really hard but, in my opinion, not in a good way (I love really hard games).
There is a real issue with the collisions with trees. I was always thinking my character will be able to move between two trees and then bump right into one of them...
That gave me an awful feeling of unfairness.
In addition, that feeling is accentuated by flying enemies. Every single enemy is flying and, de facto, not affected by this tree issue.
Anyway, graphics are pretty cool (except the black background) and random generation works really well.
Music would have been great but who can make everything in 48h ?

Arkazon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Agree with earlier comments - gem box should be in the first room. It took me a few attempts to find a gem and I never managed to find both a gem and the gem box! Maybe put a delay on enemy movement when you first enter a room - just a quarter of a second or so to give the player a chance to react before they die.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:53am

Nice game, very difficult, I couldn't go further than level 3. I like the artstyle, the concept is original too, good job! :)

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:00pm

A pretty solid concept, but the enemies are super tough, and winning or losing pretty much depends solely on how close you spawn to a sword. Also, walking diagonally is faster than walking straight.

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:06am

Hey man, finally got around to playing -- made it to level 4 with 8 gems! The tile change was a nice surprise, how many are there? The game is extremely difficult at first, as has been noted, but once you work out how the swords work and how the enemies move you can really get the jump on them.

Overall incredible work getting a proc gen game done for a jam. Only thing I can say is it would be nice if collisions were masked to the tree instead of the tiles trees were on, it would compliment the responsive movement. I had fun working this one out!

somepx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:49am

Amazing indeed!!! Damn wasp enemy alway kill me, no matter how many times I try to kill it :O
Excellent work @d__adee! ;)

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Nice visual theme! The game was really hard. Couldn't manage to reach level 2. Sometimes I would get a gem or two but not much more xD

Keep up the nice work! Would like to see this developed further. (And hopefully a little more forgiving at the beginning)

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:43am

hard

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Way to hard game! Those enemies come so fast and if you haven't got the sword... and when I got the sword I don't know how many times I would have needed to hit the wasp? Could become a really nice game though, you just need to make it much more forgiving.

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:11pm

One silly question. How do you bring items to the gem box? I can only swap between sword-gem

Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:37am

The game was kind of hard but very fun! :D Excellent work! :D never found the gem box :c xD

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:10am

Neat mechanic! It's a bit too difficult for me though, I only got to level 2 once.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:38pm

The enemies are far too fast! Cute character sprite, anyway :D

d__adee says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:01pm

@all
Thanks for playing everyone.

@s73ph4n
You have to touch the gem box while holding the gem. ;)

foumart says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nicely put together for the compo, well done! But it's too hard and a little stucky - maybe some obstacle-sliding movement? Also the invulnarable enemies must be stopped for at least 2-3 sec when hit, and do they all fly through the obstacles?

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Nice game! A bit more time to think about each screen would be helpful (those monsters come right at you before you've seen what items there are and what paths/exits you have); I'd also like to see every colour sword available somewhere on each level so you can eventually beat all the monsters (and maybe have the wrong colour sword stun them for a second, just to give you a chance). I really liked the white outline on the graphics :)

loxo says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I like the idea and the graphics very much! But I think the game is too difficult and not very balanced between multiple starts. It's pure luck to have the right sword near you or a clear path. Maybe slower enemies would decrease the difficulty enough, or only one kind of sword you have to get to defeat every enemy. Or I would like to see that with every start the levels are identical, so you would be able to learn the layout and improve over time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]