December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warp Runner

by Raphy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare ! Hope you guys enjoyed it !

There are 8 levels with walls, ennemies and laser beams at the end ! It's kindda hard to beat the last levels, but you should try it !

You are a prisonner that has decided to escape a futuristic prison. But who cares ?

This is a runner where you only get one button to warp the character ! Space to warp.

I really enjoyed doing it. Thanks for playing !


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#523Graphics2.88
#613Fun2.70
#697Overall2.77
#704Innovation2.58
#746Theme2.44
#766Humor1.52
#787Audio1.30
#791Mood2.31

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:50am

Cool concept. The controls are so-so, but I liked the idea. Maybe add some warp effect to make it look better?

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

It reminds me of Velocity Ultra! :D Did you ever played it? :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

the splash screen graphics are great, it would be cool to carry over more of that look into the game - that monochrome look is neat.

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59am

Hey thanks for the comments ! Alan I never played VelocityUltra no :)
mcapraro yeah I am satisfied with the graphics (idea came from a pixel art I saw) but actually it took me too much time to make ! If I had to do it again I don't think I would spend as much time on the graphics, but more on the level design.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I like the environments!

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Cool graphics, fun concept, nice take on the theme.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Good Job!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:04pm

The art looks great and the mechanics work well, good game!

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Interesting art ! It could have been nice to be able to choose in which lane to go.

OmegaVesko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I like it, though the warping felt pretty laggy at times. Enough to make me run into walls a lot more than I thought I would.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Game mechanic is solid and fun. But I thought I was going to die when hitting the walls. Instead you carry on - so that was a bit underwhelming. Then again, I really wanted this game to be tough tough tough like Canabalt :) Overall, warping is a great concept and I think you could pursue this idea further!

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Nice concept! I think if you put sound effects to game maybe be better... :)

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice runner

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Good Job!

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nicely done with impressive artwork.

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Cool graphics, are Flashback style. The game is very entertaining and you could make a version for mobile phones!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Nice looking game. I think the gameplay would work better if the warping was more responsive, especially the times where you need to warp 2+ times quickly.

Manou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Best addictive game so far, good job.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Pretty good, liked the lane switching. the warping itself felt a bit slow though, but that could be me.

Raphy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Thanks for the nice feedback ! By the way, the game is hard, especially after the level 5 or 6.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34pm

The art looks great and the game mechanics are good. However, the order the lanes change might use some tweaking in my opinion. You could also try to make the warping more responsive.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice graphics. Cool game.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tW8cCOHxOWI
My first impressions on the game :)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:51am

I love the vertical spawn mechanic in this game. The run animation was very smooth too!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:47am

Nice idea. Controls seem a bit laggy.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:45am

Quite good game ;) I saw background's connect points, I think you should repair it because it looks a little ugly ;) Controls are some unconfortable, and a shame that there is no music ;) Anyway, I think is good game like a first LD entry, I wish you good luck! Cheers ;)

Nelien says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Really liked the graphics style; I think that runners should feel a bit more fast paced though -- the downside to hitting a barrier didn't feel like enough of a disincentive.

Cipher says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:48am

The linux version deosn't run. It looks like you mistakenly packaged the windows one in the linux download

Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Cool idea, the graphics are well done. It's a nice game !

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

No sound:(

It seems there's no consequence for getting stuck on a wall, either.

Keep polishing!

Raphy says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Thanks for all the comments !

For the ones saying that there is no consequences getting stuck on a wall, can you please play for more than one minute ?
There is limited time to finish levels and there are deadly walls (ennemies) starting after a few levels...

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Pretty awesome warping mechanic. Also you should definitely do an endless/survival mode.

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:08am

Uh, WINE is crashing and the title screen looks so seducing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]