December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

EDGE: You Only Got One Chance

by spike_xp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're on the edge. Dragon's attacking your house. Get equipped, and fight the dragon.

1. Make a sword by putting some ores, then craft it!
2. Insert cards into the sword to power it up!

---
Made with Flixel + PhotonStorm's power Tools
Images using Photoshop + VLGOthic font
Musics generated with MelodyRaiser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Got a bug at the 4th screen (I'm not sure) :
TypeError: Error #1009: Il est impossible d'accéder à la propriété ou à la méthode d'une référence d'objet nul.
at org.flixel::FlxGroup/remove()[D:\Work\Gendai Shikaku Bunka Kenkyuukai\On-Going\Projects\MakingEdge\src\org\flixel\FlxGroup.as:276]
at PlayState/startCrafting()[D:\Work\Gendai Shikaku Bunka Kenkyuukai\On-Going\Projects\MakingEdge\src\PlayState.as:437]
at org.flixel::FlxButton/onMouseUp()[D:\Work\Gendai Shikaku Bunka Kenkyuukai\On-Going\Projects\MakingEdge\src\org\flixel\FlxButton.as:350]
But the design is cool.
LET'S ROCK AND ROLL!

spike_xp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:24am

Okay, so uploading the fix took more than an hour. Should've known :/

spike_xp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30am

It's up and I hope I'm not too late to get rates from you guys

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I wish I understood what was going on in this game more. I'd like to wait to rate until I understand the mechanics. Can you give us any hints spike? Also, I think your volume isn't quite working correctly. If I change the volume the music does not change level, but if I mute it and tell music to start again it does have a lower volume.

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Wtf? I'm kinda... unable to guess what the hell is going on :)

BTW what is Music Raiser and where can I get it? :D

spike_xp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59pm

@doitle

You have to lose several times, and hope that you get various tips

@shigor

i added some descriptions for your convenience :)

from some random forum :( here, https://www.dropbox.com/s/wv9pk972si5jurt/MelodyRaiser122.exe

@all

if there's at least 5 people asking for the ore names and effects, cards' effects, and how i calculate the damage, i'll add a googledocs just for that ;)

Yoni says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Could not understand how to play :(

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Interesting concept. I liked it, though very confusing at first. Also, the web version was giving a download link...? Went for the windows version instead.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]