December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Shot Showdown

by ninjacharlie - Jam Entry

NOTICE: THIS GAME IS NOW ON ITCH.IO WHERE IT MAY CONTINUE DEVELOPMENT IN THE FUTURE: http://ninjacharlie.itch.io/one-shot-showdown
Controls:
Left click - aim shot
Space - End aim/fire
A, S, D - Player 1 dodging
Left, right, down - Player 2 dodging

D - Debug info (if you like that kinda thing)
R - reset scene (if you get stuck)

Music by Abstraction (https://soundcloud.com/abstraction). Code and art by me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#43Theme(Jam)3.67
#112Fun(Jam)3.33
#144Humor(Jam)2.92
#148Innovation(Jam)3.23
#174Audio(Jam)3.18
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#376Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

I'm on mac, and it says the download is damaged or incomplete.

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

This is almost Worms-esque. Very creative concept!

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

@yapshuter63, thanks for catching that, I think I fixed it.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58am

I really liked how you generated the obstacles and the bullet bouncing mechanic was a lot of fun to watch.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01am

This is really fun!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10am

Jeez, I just lost miserably against myself. As in, the guy I had shoot just anywhere either got me all the time, or the well-aimed one backfired and hit himself. :D Cool stuff!

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12am

Nice one. Damn... it's 3 o'clock in the morning over here and nobody is awake who could play with me :(

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16am

interesting, more movement would make it better.

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

I really like this. It's nice to see someone doing a two player hotseat game, and the bullet and obstacle physics are awesome. I had the two bullets hit, which was hilarious.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I'm also having trouble with downloading on MAC. Like the art though. Looks pretty fun!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Cool concept ! Congratz

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Awesome! My only problem was when the bullets didn't hit anyone and it took them so long to stop I had to quit the game. Very nice game for a dual!

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Venks, which version of OSX are you running?

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47pm

murilo, thanks :D, if the bullets don't hit anyone, you can press R to reset the level.

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Nice concept overall, unfortunately the music did not play for me..

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Managed to shoot myself in the face to begin with, which was very humorous. Then I went for straight shots. Then I realised you could do cooler shots with the bouncing bullets, and I started to try and pull off the best shots I could. Nice! Gameplay was done very well, but I feel like the aesthetics could do with some sprucing, such as giving the ominous black squares some graphics. Some kind of notification as to which player is which would be good too. :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

funny game... need another player to test it twice... but yeah. Cool pixel art!

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

"Error main.lua 273 bad argument #2 to 'draw' (number expected, got userdata)"

Crashed on launch, on Ubuntu 12.04

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Very fun, original gameplay and cool mechanic for playing two players, good job!

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Jimanzium, ah, I think your running version 0.8.0 of Love2d. They changed the way you make a quad draw in 0.9.0 (which is the version I wrote it in).

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:46am

Haha, this was fun, though a bit more content would've been better. The bullets colliding in midair was awesome, it balances the game when there are no obstacles between the players! Also, good soundtrack.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:37pm

This is super fan! I always shoot myself :D Great job man!

seantheartist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Wished the physics on the bullets went faster after awhile, took a long time for them to stop going around. I dig the theme and the animation of the moving and crouching dodge options.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Fun little game you have going here. It makes for a competitive experience. A few more options in way of weapons could go a long way with this game.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very funny for two players :). Good work!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Quite the neat idea, keep it up!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

That was pretty cool! The bullets take ages to stop though, so if both players happen to miss it's very annoying to wait. Graphics are brilliant!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Maaaaaaaaaan! Awesome game!!!
Please continue making it and polish it! I saved it to be played at our gaming nights with the gang!

Two suggestions:
- when you're generating the random terrain between the guys make sure there is always something blocking the direct strait-forward line of sight. I got clear line several times, which is easy shoot.

- make it for more simultaneous players. 4 at least, 6 or more if you can! It would be Uber fun!!! :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38am

Stupid game - my girlfriend beat me every time! ;) Kidding of course - had a LOT of fun with this. More polish in the visuals would be nice, and as mentioned above, something to block main line of sight would be good. Could be as simple as having the same obstacle in the middle every time. Hope you're planning on expanding this post-jam :)

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice one. Would be a bit better if the bullets didn't lose speed when bouncing.

bunnyhero says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:16am

wheee fun game.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I can't play with it on Linux with love 0.8.0

> Error: main.lua:273: bad argument #2 to 'draw' (number expected, got userdata)

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

cool entry. Your music choice was awesome! Played quite a few rounds. Are the levels completely random or generated to be winnable every time?

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:07pm

@Binary Gambit, they're randomly generated. When I continue work on it later, I'll have to use a real generation algorithm that makes it winnable. Sometimes it'll just generate a wall across the screen :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]