December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Bullet

by Toureiro - Jam Entry

YOU ONLY HAVE ONE bullet left! But not to worry. As a super spy you're a qualified field surgeon and plucking the precious bullet from the guts of the fallen death-pinch-robots shouldn't be a problem. But don't get cocky. Too many robots can overwhelm you and reloading that bad boy can feel like an eternity. You might as well just toss it in a pinch. Not as effective, but f*ck it! There will be no pinchy business today!

________________

First LudumDare and first time making a game for one of us!

________________
What went right:

-Creating a mechanic that fit the theme.

-Fun idea that lead to a few laughs.

-Working with a great graphic designer.

________________
What went wrong:

-Pretty much EVERYTHING! xD

-Only working on Sunday and Monday night just before the deadline.

-86% of time just wrestling with bugs and problems from trying to use 2D for the first time in a workflow that doesn't support it yet and ending up making a mess of 2D with 3D stuff.

-Still more bugs in the submission than in Starship Troopers.

-No actual programmers on the team.

-No time left to make it feel good, fun or fair!


________________
CREDITS:

Ricardo Toureiro Dias
Hugo Carrapatoso Silva

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Graphics(Jam)4.29
#70Theme(Jam)3.50
#142Overall(Jam)3.39
#153Humor(Jam)2.88
#169Fun(Jam)3.15
#207Mood(Jam)3.07
#329Audio(Jam)2.65
#342Innovation(Jam)2.66

Comments

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

The art style is really nice! But the audio is grating and a bit annoying.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51pm

The graphics are amazing :D Weird sounds xD

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I like it so much! The best graphics I've ever seen!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice art style, sound of exterminate gets rather annoying.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

really good entry. Art is great. Great wrap of the idea. The audio does hurt from time to time. The the overall fun-ness of the game is top tier

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Maybe you should concider recording your own soundeffects. Really liked the graphics thou.

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Fantastic graphics. Controls were a little too unforgiving and made the game somewhat frustrating.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Amazing Graphics! And nice use of the theme, although I found myself getting furthest without even using the one bullet

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Sweet game! cool idea that you skavenge your bullet from the robots :) Farting jumps and dr who reference is superfunny.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Great art! :D

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Great visuals! Sounds were quite stange, but not bad at all. =D I love how the robots move backwards instead of turning around.

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Really loved it, especially the Dalek's "EXTERMINATE".
Nice work!

ViliX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Do I recognise Dalek's: EXTERMINATE? :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Very nice, liked the train moving and the "fire" on the player.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great entry!
The theme is well represented and the art is pretty good. The audio is annoying. The mood is great also, the sense o urgency is really high.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Nice graphics and interesting idea.

donaldducky says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Loved the comic style intro!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice entry! Loved the graphics and the gameplay. The "EXTERMINATE" sound became a little annoying after a while though :). The problems you were encountering aren't reflected in the game.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

The jump makes me chuckle ^^. Greatest graphics and art style i've seen so far, and a perfect soundtrack which stick to the game. Really good game. =)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Most well done art I've seen so far, great work!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This is epic. Then again, everything with Dalek in them is epic, but the intro and mechanics do help.

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Awesome job!

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34pm

nice graphics, and quite original game, it's funny!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16am

Awesome graphics! Audio is pretty annoying but the game is fun to play! Mechanics are good but i found some minor bugs. Great job! :)

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :D

antila says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

As much as I love the Daleks, I think that sound is copyrighted.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55am

Cool graphics but, the cheap-sounding sounds kinda killed the feel of it for me :/
The game has a great idea! And you should DEFINITELY build on it after LD!
Very nice!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06am

Very funny farting sounds. All around solid game. Well done. Only thing is that the robots tend to climb vertical walls.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:11am

Your music kept starting (but not stopping) whenever I died, so I had to eventually turn off my sound because of music overlapping itself.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36am

The art and audio are pretty good, but there are many bugs and not not having a real programmer had its effect. But overall pretty good job

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Graphics are nice, auido is not that bad except the jump sound, minor graphic glitch when reload-shooting is easily forgettable. Quite fun, and most importantly, quite in-line with the theme. I say nice job.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Awesome graphics ! Very well played !

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Kudos for the idea + execution, i really got attached to the white-ish look of the bullet, but the audio caused a marital dispute ;)

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Best one bullet Dalek-fighting game /I/ ever played :) Jumping over enemies was a bit tricky as touching them, even a tiny bit, killed you.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I really like this game, good fun, easy to play and fast. My ONLY criticism would be that it should be faster to move left from a recently looted robot.

michail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:34pm

The game has huge potential - it has awesome graphics, good music, I even like the "exterminate" sound - but the jumping sound ruined all the mood for me.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Liked the art, though it did feel like I was loading more bullets into my gun when it was only one. Nontheless I loved the presentation and the gameplay was well rounded.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:12pm

A brilliant game! Art style is very impressive.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice graphics!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:55am

To bad the sound effects are just so badly matching and quite frankly not very good, because the visuals are just amazing. Also -1 for using Dalek voices for obviously non-Dalek enemies. Also jumping sounds like farting. This would be a 5/5 if it weren't for the sound.

Still a good game and smooth dynamics though, just please not this sound!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:35am

The art is fantastic!

But the audio (the "exterminate" line and the farts) gets on your nerves pretty quickly. The collision detection was also very unforgiving, and sometimes I would die without actually hitting any robots (at least visually), just passing very close.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:53am

As everyone else already said, the graphics, mechanics and take on the theme are all great (I liked the recharge thing, it made the game feel more tense than most out there), but the game needs some audio polishing asap. Still great for 72 hours, congrats.

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:21am

Exterminate! :D Doctor who remember :D

Graphics are perfects! :D

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:27am

Really nice graphics ! Funny sounds,1 I like it, nice game !

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:00am

good game. I like the art, but don't like that jumping sound

TobiasNL says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Cool stuff, like the graphics and gameplay idea. Jumping sound was indeed a bit dull. Didn't fit in.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]