December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YouOnlyGetOnePath

by xerysherry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find A Path... ^o^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#277Graphics3.37
#463Audio2.59
#482Theme2.91
#581Mood2.64
#597Humor2.00
#681Innovation2.62
#716Fun2.53
#744Overall2.71

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28am

This game is just way too difficult, if the purpose is to get the ball into the hole. It's not like golf, where you can have some momentum. It's like curling, from hell. I like the general aesthetics and the ability to edit levels. It's just the gameplay that's a little bit of a miss for me.

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43am

Like Ambi said, the game is way too difficult, it took me 5 minutes to get past the first level, which is supposed easy, right? Anyway, the idea was good, and the graphics enjoyable.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Aesthetically, the game is fantastic, but it's way too difficult.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44am

Arrrrrgh, this looks too cool, but I am not on a windows machine :( do "love" games not port to mac? They must, there is a mac sdk, right?

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00am

I don't get the complaint about the difficult, I thought it was fine, made it through with 3-5 tries each. :) At least until I got stuch after the 4. or 5. level, there it just went back to where I left off in the same level. I checked the levels in the menu at the beginning, and the two following were actually the same, but there seemed to be more after that. Anyway, the retro flair is wonderful, and it's pretty fun. Would love to see of this!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36am

This is a tough game, but I like the graphics. Nice job, but could use some more playtesting.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59am

Difficult game, but very intersting idea :) Nice.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00am

OMG this remember to gameboy. So much fun, hard to play, but i love it, really good job!

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:04am

The graphics are beautiful, the idea is good, but the game is just unplayable because the difficulty. I gave up after 15 minutes stuck in the first level.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:47am

Interesting, but difficult, but good graphics.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:47am

Passed first level relatively quickly. Probably ball slows down too long, it not moves about few seconds before comparison trigger fires.

Anyway, well done, I like it!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:51am

Visually it's pretty cool, the audio bit when you fail got tiring pretty quickly on the first level. Otherwise pretty difficult.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Sound effects were a bit loud, game is as hard as nails, but it's really fun. Nice work

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:38pm

I know this game is pretty cool, but I couldn't get past the first level. Still a good concept.

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I like this type of game. It is quite hard though. And the ball bounces differently depending on your speed which is annoying.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:56am

Not a bad idea and an interesting minimalistic style, but it felt inordinately difficult (especially given how finnicky adding force to the projectile is), and the audio cues for losing and even winning a level were so grating that I turned audio off almost immediately.

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Awsome game, looks like its come right off the Game Boy. It is really hard, would be nice if the target acted like a hole in minigolf but still an awsome little game.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

So hard for me.

SamH says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:52pm

I finished all the levels, but many of them weren't very satisfying, it felt as though I beat them by chance. This is IMHO due to the slightly buggy physics: in the first level, if you shoot diagonally, the ball is supposed to move along a triangle wave, more or less; instead of that, the horizontal component of the velocity decreases much more than the vertical one, giving this weird trajectory. Another problem is the size of the rotation steps: sometimes my ideal trajectory lies just between two clicks.

Apart from that, the graphics are pretty good for a 48h entry, and the level design is challenging. Thanks for making that many levels.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:35am

Very well made for what it is trying to be, kind like a golf game.
The sound and the graphics really makes that feel of pocket game that you tried to get.
Good job!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Well built, but the difficulty and lack of instructions (even in your submission post) was a big turn-off for me. It think the ball-spin would be more effectively shown if the trajectory on the wall collisions was by default the inverse of the incident angle (ie. if the walls lacked any frictional force on the ball). This would also make the ball's path easier to predict and lead to less frustration :P Also, I think the you failed sound is taunting me. I like the calculator graphics aesthetic you have going on.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]