December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disposable

by Zuige - Jam Entry

====

This is an experimental multiplayer world creation game. Standalone Unity clients are supplied.

Game includes instructions.

====

In Disposable, the World you create gets automatically annihilated each hour.

You will be given the power to create and multiply a primitive block for each hour.

Remember: You only get one.

However, you're not alone. There are others, perhaps with different powers building with you.

Do whatever you wish with your newly given powers to create in this world.

Just keep in mind: It won't last.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#68Innovation(Jam)3.48
#112Overall(Jam)3.48
#118Theme(Jam)3.28
#260Fun(Jam)2.88
#296Graphics(Jam)3.12
#329Audio(Jam)2.65
#362Mood(Jam)2.65
#378Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

This game sounded really cool, but it required me to login to bitbucket which was interesting. After I had logged in, it said that access was denied.

Zuige says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32am

@code-11: I'm really sorry. I forgot to switch the repo to public on bitbucket. Should work now!

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:24am

Really interesting idea! I think the timer might be a bit long (I ran out of patience), but otherwise really enjoyed.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Very interesting and pleasently minimal :) cool

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Cool! I like the minimalism of it! Although, I felt it was complicated to precisely place the cubes... Also, the other people are other players? Or some sort of AI?

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Super ambitious concept with a great implementation! The only difficulty I had was in the precise placement of blocks. My assumption is that it's a Journey-style anonymous multiplayer? Nice work, I'll be back to play it some more over the weekend.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Really great game idea! It was cool when I first loaded up the game to see what had already been created. Unfortunately I wasn't able to place any blocks for some reason and the timer was stopped at 1 hour. Otherwise this game is really cool and a great way to share creativity!

Norgg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Not sure who was helping me make http://imgur.com/efnxlML but thanks for correcting my lettering. :D

Awesome idea.

runvs says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice idea. Some Music and some more sound effects could have been nice. I would also have liked to see some things happen on the map by itself, like flowing water or flowers growing on grass.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:53pm

It's probably fun, when lot's of people are online, looks solid, but is honestly a bit boring when you're alone.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:54pm

All I saw was "Your block for the next hour is" and "Time left until next world reset" without any blocks in view.

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Sorry @evilseanbot and any others who may have experienced this! The server went down for a while there. :(

Norgg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:49pm

In memorial to world #532:
http://i.imgur.com/bGsbgOe.png
http://i.imgur.com/VB529r3.png
http://i.imgur.com/OZA0Bxt.png
http://i.imgur.com/rLYK4hB.png
http://i.imgur.com/8qWiVoS.png
http://i.imgur.com/hukPDQk.png

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31am

Block placement was a bit derpy with that projection sometimes. Adding shadows or letting the user rotate the camera freely could help with that.

Of course, a multiplayer game of any scope is pretty ambitious for LD. I like to think that simple as this is, it raises some philosophical points about impermanence and anonymity in the process. Or it's just a toy and I'm overanalyzing.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:34am

I'm seeing someone place purple and green blocks right now even though gray's the theme. wut

Whih reminds me, maybe you shouldn't be able to remove blocks that aren't your color.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:36am

Oh nevermind, apparently everyone gets a different color and there just happened to be several people with my color when I first joined.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I liked the concept, just a bit boring when you're alone on the server... I enjoyed playing that with a friend, although he just placed some random blocks everywhere and rage quited... x)

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Oops, I didn't read the instructions at first and didn't know it was multiplayer. Sorry about the random block spamming :)

But because I didn't read it was a nice revelation when other were adding to the world.

Original this was.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]