December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One at a Time

by Elforama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An action/puzzle game where you have to plan ahead to win.

One character at a time.
One attack.
One life.

Move left and right with A and D.
You can change characters by pressing C before you spawn. Once you spawn you have to enter the correct door to move onto another character.
You can only change characters before spawning.

Please let me know how hard/easy the last level is for you and if you beat the game =]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#493Innovation2.93
#570Overall2.93
#630Fun2.68
#659Humor1.89
#667Audio2.06
#730Mood2.43
#862Graphics2.14
#947Theme1.89

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

Fun game, however I don't see the connection to the theme. Can you change characters before spawn? If so, how?

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

@patricklorio Press C while in planning mode.

Nice game, I liked the small details such as the platforms moving back a little before moving.

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

didnt got it when it was time to change colors with C
some mechanics :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16am

Well done puzzle game, though the physics seem to fight you a bit as you sometimes bounce around.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Art is clean and colourful!

I'm not sure how this connects to the theme but, yeah, fun game nonetheless!

Wenzil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

The last level was very difficult!

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Fun little game. Couldn't figure out the theme connection. I liked the end of level animation.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Blistering audio but I like the idea. Reminded me of Thomas Was Alone a little bit.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18am

Masterfully executed tutorial. The text "C to swap characters" persisting as a background element after you spawn (and thus can no longer change characters) was a bit hard to understand, though I got it after a while. I like it a lot and it fits the theme very well.

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57am

I didn't think much of this game... until I started playing it! Awesome game. Takes a little getting in to. The controls are a bit odd - I find for best results, to do a run-and-jump, I run first, and before I completely slow down, I just, otherwise the jump doesn't occur.

This game is rather awesome!

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

I had a pretty hard time with the controls. The right-control key wouldn't fire, so I had to kind-of adjust my hands to hit the keys, so it took me out of the game a bit, but I think other posters are right, you have to get into a bit, give it a chance, and it's pretty fun.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58am

Is it me or "C" key was not working?

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05am

I like the effect when you shoot. Nice game ;)

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06am

Fun game, the controls are a bit challenging though

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00am

No fun at all, glitchy AF and doesn't fit the theme at all.

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

The sound effects were a bit annoying. The graphics weren't the best either. The gameplay of going through the level with the mutliple character was interesting.

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46am

Where is the theme?

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Was going well up until the level where I was told I could push C to change characters. Because I Was pushing C and nothing was happening! (Playing the web version, on a Mac)

I'm a sucker for minimalist art styles too. :)

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

The mechanics are neat, i just dont like the sliding movement. And also iw was confusing when changing colors for the first time.

ramgilead says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

very clever, it looked easy but proved a real puzzle. The mechanics were well done,however, (physics) inertia was a killer and some of the elevator controls were not too clear, but I took that as part of your puzzle.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very nice game!And nice tutorial, integated into the game in a very nice way!

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Funny game. However, the physics is very strange and the controls are hard to remembers.

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I wasn't expecting this depth of gameplay from the screenshots, but this is a genuinely *GOOD* concept. With some better assets this could really REALLY be a hit.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:46am

Well deserved five stars, extremely fun! :D good job

Elforama says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:45am

Thanks for all the feedback guys, it's really encouraging.

I'm aware that the controls are wonky. Sadly I only had saturday to finish and ran out of time to complete them.

I've fixed the controls in a non submitted version since I can't upload a new one and I plan to continue with this concept.

Thanks for the support!

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This game would have scored really high two ludum dares ago, when the theme was "minimalism", I'm sort of missing its explicit connection to the theme this time tho. That small opinion aside, the game is very well made, and probably one of the better games I've played this ludum dare.

mortus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:45am

The concept is great! But unresponsive controls kinda ruins the fun. If you could give it more time and improve platformer mechanics a bit, it would be a great and fun game!

All levels were quite easy except the last one, which was fun to understand and quite frustrating to actually complete because of hard controls.

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Controls were too slippery. Otherwise, interesting mechanic.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:19am

Neat little platformer. I liked the use of particle effects.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:09am

Nice game ! I like the idea of one character at the time. The controls are good, the gameplay is challenging ! Great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]