December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Trick Pony

by GreaseMonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An incomplete entry. Would loved to have done a lot more work on this, but on the bright side I have a pretty awesome engine now. (Even if the physics are a bit broken.)

You are a little girl who wants a pony. You are on a quest to get a pony because you're apparently only allowed one and by parent logic your rocking horse counts as a pony.

Main download contains source code and Windoze binary.

If you wish to enable the level editor, check game/main.lua for the obvious toggle. Note that it can only do terrain - platforms have to be bashed in manually.

----

Note, if you're using Windows and the eye whites are drawn above the iris + pupil + shiny spot, I'm working on a fix. In the meantime, please understand why I FUCKING HATE WINDOWS AND I WANT IT TO FUCKING BURN THE STUPID FUCKING PIECE OF SHIT.

EDIT: Tried several fixes and completely stumped. Can someone please stop Windows from fucking sucking so much OH WAIT THAT'S NOT POSSIBLE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50am

I hope you get your poney one day ^^
Too much soap under the foot of the hero xD

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:19pm

My imaginary pony has rainbow mane and orange wings! She is called rainbowsunshinelovie

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:47am

The audio is the only redeeming factor.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:02am

Gah, it froze when I tried to open it.
Looks like I can't play your game either. :(

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:22am

I was playing on a Windows VM in mac, the game started in the lower right corner, If I drag the game into view all the graphics move off screen and I can't see anything to play. I will try on a normal windows machine later and see if I can get it to work.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:01am

I am running Windows, so, take this with a small grain of salt;

Okay game, collisions are a bit off and sometimes I will just randomly fall through the floor or be launched into the air. (You can walk through the wall to the left at the start, jump into it and get flung up, etc.) Rather confusing layout of the level.. Very nice sounds. I like your art style. 8/10 times when I would restart the game, I would be flung into the air and not be able to do anything for up to ten seconds before going into or through the ground. Very funny story, I love the dialogue and it feels funny and innocent. You can fall off of the platforms and there isn't a way to reset? The camera just goes to the middle of the sky? Anyway, fun game overall, the base 'engine' seems pretty solid, could use some tweaking on the collision, but overall good work!

Keep it up!

(Make sure to check back on my game as I replied to your comment, in detail.)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:34am

When I died the camera seemed to rush off into space and show only nothingness. The physics are a little too slippery, too, but not a bad attempt overall.

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Personally I did not like it. You could improve it by making the path clearer. I understand it is incomplete.

euske says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Hating Windows doesn't make a game look better, you know.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:42pm

@euske Unfortunately, because I have no solution for this problem, hating on Windows is the only thing I can do right now.

At least it runs.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:03am

The physics were a bit wonky here and there, but it really wasn't anything too bad. Liked the detail on the character, had a little dance party while waiting for an elevator block :P.

Good job.

PS. There are better outlets for your Windows-hate. People would've understood your point just as well without all the unnecessary bashing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]