December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Corn Quest

by burlapjack - Jam Entry

Why hello there, my favorite farmyard fowl. We know your brain capacity is very small so we do not expect much from you. That's why we have assigned you the simple task of retrieving all of the lost corn kernels of the kingdom. We have granted you the privilege of using the left mouse button to move. But not the right! There is a slight chance the right mouse button could cause a minor case. Of death. Or do nothing at all. Either way, you'd waste your, or infinitely worse, our time.
In conclusion, use the left mouse button to move to collect the kernels. Got it? LEFT mouse, definitely not right. Which may in fact kill you.
Speaking of things that would like to see you dead, mind the goats.
They are quite heavy.



Created by Jack Eggebrecht, Brian Rold, and J.D. Carthel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#139Innovation(Jam)3.25
#193Audio(Jam)3.10
#194Theme(Jam)3.02
#194Humor(Jam)2.66
#236Graphics(Jam)3.32
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#309Mood(Jam)2.79
#360Fun(Jam)2.63

Comments

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

Loved the character, nice mechanic too

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

Requires a bit of patience, but overall a really clever use of the theme in an interesting gameplay mechanic. Art is consistently good, and the music fires on all my gameboy nostalgia cylinders.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59am

You get only One Direction, indeed. It's a little tricky.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

This may be an interesting use of the premise, but it leads to very clunky, and (in my opinion) thoroughly un-enjoyable controls. This ruined the game for me, despite the nice sounds, and cute graphics.

Still, you have managed to achieve a very aesthetically pleasing game. I just don't like the limited oontrols, nor how much you I end up having to wait to move.

However, in looking past that problem, it's quite good.

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Need a lot of patience. Even for me!
But, I loved it!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12am

nothing in this worlds transcends the value of corn. super cute art and music. the level design is interesting as well, but it's a shame how tedious it is to get around. also, i thought i found all the corn in the first level of the spikes but it didn't progress. got a smile out of me for sure.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13am

Well, trying to rush through was certainly intense. Good use of theme!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47am

Cute character in a cruel world. lol.

elcow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44am

Interesting idea in theory, but as others have said, really tedious in practice. Perhaps instead hold down the button to start rotating and release to move in that direction, but start the rotation at whatever direction you moved last? It takes away some of the difficulty, but I think the increased playability would be worth it.

chabuduo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55am

unique mechanic and nice take on the theme!

d2king10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I like the idea of only having one button to control your character, but I felt the turn speed as a bit too slow, and most of the time you are just sitting there waiting for it to face the correct direction.

vinull says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29am

Nice little game, I love the music and the "chat" with the adventurer =)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:35am

I can hardly control the main character, maybe it's by design. Overall nice graphics and audio, like the character.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice concept

nicotr014 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:56am

The art and sound are excellent. The movement mechanic is a little irritating though. Good job!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice game concept! Lovely graphics and music! Though as others said it gets tedious very quickly.
The fact that the moving directions are changed clockwise, makes it easy and fast to make "clockwise maneuvers" like: move right, move down, move left.
However if you want to make a counter clockwise maneuver ("left, down, right"), you will wait one cycle between every move.
Some suggestions for experimentation:
- add second control, which can switch between the two cycling rotations (clockwise or counter clockwise).
- add game speed control, which would affect the direction cycling speed as well as all objects (enemies and obstacles) in the game.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:01am

Slightly difficult due to the control scheme but still an enjoyable game. I really liked the graphics and the audio created a rather interestingly eerie mood.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]