December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

MASTERBAIT

by Hyoga-3D - Jam Entry

Runs better on Internet Explorer.

YouTube Gameplay - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOVWpJ0fR5o&feature=youtu.be

Help the fisherman to catch his food and not starve, but be careful because he has only a bait.

Initially, his line is short, so take only what it can handle. Look at the silhouette of the fish of the respective phase.

Fish have a hierarchy that can not be broken then to catch a bitter fish, you need to use a smaller bait, but not so small.

Beware of the fish with red eyes!
They are not good for eating and can spoil your lunch.

Just one more thing.
Take care not to break his line when it is red, to do this, relieve the tension giving rope to the fish.

To Move: use Arrows of the keyboard.
If you can, download the windows version, it has a better performance, and now go fishing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#97Graphics(Jam)4.03
#130Overall(Jam)3.41
#145Theme(Jam)3.18
#161Humor(Jam)2.83
#181Audio(Jam)3.16
#193Fun(Jam)3.08
#208Innovation(Jam)3.03
#252Mood(Jam)2.92

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I think it'S creative. And love the graphic style.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Pretty cool, soathing water sounds are always a good thing :]

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Creative, fun, and very, very good graphics! Super polished I think! Nice sounds, nice everything! Good job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Very nice! It runs so slow on web though!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

It is true alvarop :/
Unfortunately it runs a little slow on some navigators, but on the Windows version it runs smooth, you can try it if you want, to see the mistery that lies beneath the sea :)

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Looks great, and the gameplay certainly works. Theme's a bit of a stretch.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

@okmmjyygv thanks had a lot of work trying to make a simple and coloured visual, but keeping it appealing.

@TobiasNL Nice that you like the sound of water! Thanks :D!

@joppiesaus Yes we tried to polish the most we could, because in the past we had made some games don't giving the amount of attention to things like a help, to say to the player what he need to do and a menu too, so this time give proper attention to this kind of things.

@PEBKAC thanks, one of the things that we focused on this game was to make a gradual difficulty to it, so it starts easy and gets harder.

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Super!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Thanks @occash!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Best name ever.
I really like the 'evolving' bait twist! Maybe you could even do away with informing the player, the 'order' of attraction?

Great artwork too! You should be proud!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

thanks @OriginalBigDan.

Nice you liked the name :D
We thought about putting the silhouette of the next fish on the hud, but then we decided to just let this order on the select stage screen, Thanks once again.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57pm

It was amazing fishing a whale from my small boat :D
Nice job on the evolving background, and all the animals are great.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice game. I liked the graphics as well as the audio.
The game is very well polished. Good job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I like the art style!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Simple and fun. pretty innovative too. Amazing how far one bait can actually get you, fits the theme really well.

Only criticism is that the sound was a little off. would have been nice to have some sound cues for catching a fish, achieving goals etc. Also using the sound of running water doesn't really work for a game that is set underwater. Some music might have worked better.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25pm

"thanks had a lot of work trying to make a simple and coloured visual, but keeping it appealing."

You mean copying the style of Vlambeer's Ridiculous Fishing verbatim? I wouldn't try to claim you came up with the style, especially when copying a game that's been notoriously ripped off in the past.

Gameplay is obviously influenced by ridiculous fishing but not too much, which is good! It's a nice twist on the formula, the line tension adds a lot to it. Well done guys!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:34pm

@Colapsydo that was the idea, fishing giant fishs in a little boat :D

@Mekuri Thanks, we tryed to polish the most we could.

@evilindiegames Thanks!

@skysthelimit yes everything is possible in games, even fishing a whale with a little bait :D
And yes, maybe we could have added some more feedback when acomplishing things, thanks for the tip.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:39pm

@BrothersT yes, you are right, it was our inspiration, their game it's a máster piece and being compared it it's na honor

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Clean graphics and fun gameplay. Great work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Good job! Liked the art, very harmonic! I just missed a music theme, water sounds are too much calm D: The gameplay works very well. Congrats!

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice game. It took me a great while to get started though because the color change on the bait button was too subtle.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00am

I loved it!
Beatiful and simple!
My biggest complain is that, at least with the web version, the standalone I'll test later, as deep you go, the game becomes slower, and slower. Could play just up to the orca.
Other this technical problem, great job guys!
Congratz! :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Really liked the art. :)

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Great game! I loved the graphics :)

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Not that original, but it's polished and runs smoothly. Good job.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:38am

Very creative! The graphics are nice and it used the theme very creatively.

michail says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Cool game with pretty graphics! Discovering new types of fish was very enjoyable, and the last one was really huge. However, I didn't manage to get this monster out.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]