December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Medieval Combat

by lubos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal:
You control a hero with 12 soldiers on his side. These soldiers follow your hero on the map. Your goal is to defeat 1000 enemies.

Controls:
Click anywhere to move your hero.
Click on Formation button to change your formation.

Tips:
Keep moving your soldiers so most of them are in combat helping each other. If your army won't move it will be destroyed much easier.

Tools:
Haxe & Kha for code
Cfxr for sound
Chirp Tune for music
PS for graphics
Sublime Text 3 for coding
Audacity for sound editing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#209Innovation3.38
#229Graphics3.50
#368Mood2.94
#465Overall3.04
#478Fun2.88
#606Audio2.28
#909Theme2.00
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Err... I find it interesting, I love the minimal pixel style - still I didn't get how to play, other than change formation!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Damn defeated in 900 kills. I tried to keep tight formation and focused on isolated soldiers but things get progressively difficult near the end!

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Thanks for feedback! @somepx: Added description. You can also control your army, which is critical to win.

lbroussal says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Well done there is potential. Adrenaline is there!

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I got 945 kills by clicking randomly, is that what I'm supposed to do? Interesting game. I just didn't get it: what do I have only one?

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Great to see haxe :). Worked great in the android browser too.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Nice. Old scool graphics, old scool music. That graphics make me give you just 4*... To big pixels for me, sorry.
I especially love one dozen and one thousand idea :).
PS: My record: 798

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Really innovative real-time strategy genre, especially with the formation mechanics; lots of potential here. Great work!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

So much bloood
I like the pixel art

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06am

I hope you continue developing this game. Could be great with different unit types and more formations. Great job!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

What a blood bath :p Cool !

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

I like the graphics, but the gameplay is too simple for my taste. +1 for using Haxe! :-)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Haha, very fun, loved the fx and moving the units around to get the best front to attack the enemy hordes. Didn't quite make 1000 but very close. :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Interesting concept. Had trouble controlling troops to a finer extent, but overall a very solid engine and game.

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I'm not sure if I've got a grasp on tactics of this game, but I got around 1050 kills on my first go, so I guess that makes me a junior tactician at least. :D

Loved the graphics, more realistic battle sounds and some shouts and battle cries would fit IMO, but I totally understand that it's hard to stuff all the stuff into the competition's limited time.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:45am

Got 921 kills on my first try. Interesting game. I wish I could tell when my guys where close to death.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:55pm

That was chaos :-) I realized how to play after about half minute and then just clicked almost randomly as I didn't found better strategy. Managed to get 853 of these bastards down. This blood stains make the battleground little bit chaotic though.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:43pm

That was fun, but I felt like my actions didn't have much meaning. Cool art style, and I appreciated the uniqueness. This has potential, so I hope you keep at it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]