December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOPlatform

by uchiro - Jam Entry

Platform game with one platform.
Goal to reach purple ball (was supposed to be on the speed).
You can at any time to destroy the platform, and at any time can create a platform.

Control:
WASD - movement
Space - Jump and create a platform if you are already in the air.
r - restart

Pink primitives killed.
Green primitives are not allowed to put the platform.

Goal - to get to the purple ball on time.

Post-compo builds: http://bit.ly/1cS2ozQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#196Innovation(Jam)3.06
#255Theme(Jam)2.79
#355Audio(Jam)2.54
#380Graphics(Jam)2.78
#442Humor(Jam)1.47
#451Mood(Jam)2.30
#501Overall(Jam)2.35
#512Fun(Jam)1.94

Comments

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I'm falling and can't do anything :s Finally i did not understand what happened and what to do.

uchiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Platform is destroyed after a while. A new platform can be made ​​only after a jump from the previous platform. If you fall, press r to restart :)

uchiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:15pm

I have not got a very simple operation. I'll try to fix it soon and add a small tutorial.

vapgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Did not understand what to do too.

uchiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09pm

It is very sad. Now make help before level.

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Yeaaah. Objective wasn't entirely clear, nice visuals though.

uchiro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:27am

Thank you! :)

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:46pm

liked it but quite confusing.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Nice game even if I didn't get it immediately. Nice music and almost innovative.

uchiro says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:05pm

This is my first and only music track. Very thanks :)

Peni6 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:27pm

No real explanation, spent ages working out what to do, then ages trying to actually jump, completely unable. No clear instruction, no game

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:30pm

It took me a long while to figure out that I was destroying the platform I was standing on and could respawn it with space. I didn't like having to use space as the respawn button, because it meant each jump would be a little shorter.

It's a very innovative design that turns into an overly-difficult game. Having the platform disappear after a short time is a feature that could have been left out!

I like the music and the mood and especially the clean graphical look.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:53am

I found it too hard and the mechanic was unfortunately not intuitive for me. Nice environment. Congrats

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:02am

I corrected the description. But maybe you have any ideas on how to help the player understand the game?

pjchardt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:10am

Interesting idea, but as others have said the game offers little in the way of feedback to make it intuitive for the player. A few suggestions:
-If the platform is destroyed after a certain time give clear visual/audio feedback as to when this will happen and then again when it does happen.
-There is no info that the mouse looks. I did not realize this for several levels.
-Sometimes I could not place another platform. Indicate why both in info and with audio/visual feedback. If it is because I am inside an area that prevents me, indicate this on screen with a palette swap or something else.
-When I place a platform play an positive sound.
-If I try to place a platform but cannot, indicate this with a negative sound.
Just a few ideas I have off the top of my head. Hope they help. (Did not play the post-compo version, so maybe some of these are addressed.)

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:34am

Thank you so much :) Previously, the platform can be made ​​only after a jump (not fall), but post-compo version I removed this restriction, as a lot of people didn't like it.

The problem with the sound to create a platform that it will be repeated too often and it can annoy.

And yes, I've highlighted color when the platform can't be placed.

chapachapa says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:30am

I like the idea. Platform creation has some glitches but other than that, great Jam game!

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:04am

As other say, a little more feedback could be appreciated eheh. The plain blue background don't help to navigate (hard to tell that I'm falling)

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:31am

Need more blue cubes :)
But what to do with feedback no idea yet

Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I enjoyed the music and the art, but I could not figure out what was going on. :)

KWL_TW says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Cool concept, but a little confuse when play.

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Really confusing that the platform suddenly disappears and you just have to restart! Good visuals, but frustrating gameplay.

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:26pm

As a result, the gameplay has disappointed me too. I would be very glad if you suggested any ideas to improve it :)

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Very short, what to do:
Jump and create under a platform to get to the purple ball on the speed.

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I like the graphics, and the concept is fun.

Learning how to play is difficult, though.

I wish the platform did not disappear by itself. If it only disappeared when I pressed [space] mid-air, it would be easier to start the game.

Also, it seems I cannot create a platform if I walk off the platform. This is very confusing at first. Maybe the graphics can change, to let me know if I am allowed to create a platform? Alternatively, maybe you could allow the player to create the platform even if they walk off instead of jump off?

Anyway, an interesting entry!

uchiro says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:14am

Thank you very much, that we were able to understand how to play :)
In post-compo version of the platform, you can create even if the fall with her

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]