December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Apocalypse

by ColdBrain - Jam Entry

You have only one shot and you have to kill millions of zombies.

Arrows to move, space to pull the trigger. You have only one bullet!
Slew zombies to get the bullet.

Go ahead! Kill all zombies!

If game runs slow at level start, try to refresh (F5 or Ctrl+R) the page few times.
Google Chrome preferred. Keyboard only. Best played at 16:9 screens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Theme(Jam)3.62
#136Innovation(Jam)3.26
#175Mood(Jam)3.17
#216Overall(Jam)3.19
#233Fun(Jam)2.96
#242Humor(Jam)2.45
#266Graphics(Jam)3.22
#332Audio(Jam)2.64
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Enjoy your humor points :)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice concepto.
I find the font used in the game hard to read. And when you walk over the dead zombies they are above the player.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36am

Haha never played a game where the bullets bounce like this before! And getting the zombies to chase you into the bullet is a great concept. Only criticism is the font, hard to read. Apart from that, really good fun, looks great!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Really like the concept. Quite difficult to get those guys in front of that bullet.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice game! Artwork is amazing, and I do love the fact that you have to stay close to the bullet to get zombies close to it and die, risky :) nice gameplay, nice mood!

Nut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:11am

This was interesting. It didn't perform well at all in my browser though.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:29am

Nice Game, for each categories. Congratulations !

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Great concept and use of theme, good job (:

psychomonster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Good Idea. Good puzzle elements... With the right timing all the zombies would die... but youd patience to kill them all ^^ good game...

Blooperly says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:07am

Haha pretty hard to lure the zombies around. Great idea!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41am

Really clever twist! I liked this one... and feel developing this further could have potential to become a pretty decent success.

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26pm

It freezes on second level but its nice game btw

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Thanks everyone for good words.

If you see that game runs slow after level change, try to refresh the page few times. Looks like it's one of Chrome's magic.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Very good, nice game concept. I really liked the music as well!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:04pm

The music was cool but the game wouldn't work for me so I haven't rated it yet. I'll try it on my desktop PC and download it. Hopefully it'll work for me then!

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:21pm

We thought to implement gamepad and/or tablet modes at the beginning, but time is not infinite, so had to get rid of that plans in the end. So it's keyboard only for now.

supremefist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30am

A lot of fun! Zombie behaviours are pretty unpredictable, though...

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:55am

Haha a very interesting twist on the 'kill all zombies' formula. Good stuff!

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I like the colors a lot, and graphics in general. It's a good use of the theme, but it's really hard, because the bullet has exactly the same speed as the zombies. I gave up very quickly unfortunately.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Cawrtz, can't remember exact speed values now, but I suppose zombies were a bit slower than bullet in usual mode. BTW, there are accelerators (green lines at wall) that you can use to speed up the bullet.
Actually I never thought about running in front of bullet, always tried to cross zombie and bullet paths.

Snuti says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice concept and artwork, however, I did find the font a little hard to read but overall, good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]