December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Race The One

by HybridMind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made a one button game using only ones in one hour.

Controls:

You are going left by default, press the '1' key to go right.

Instructions:

Don't hit the red ones.

Refresh the page to play again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.39
#777Graphics2.35
#829Fun2.35
#847Innovation2.29
#908Overall2.44
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

Haha simple but funny! I like that you took the theme seriously :P

Mutt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

That's awesome. I love that the one key that's used is the '1' key. Not much to play, but it's awesome just as a joke/novelty. And not bad for being made in an hour.

Sestren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

Nice, literal take on the theme.

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:48pm

best and most complete use of the theme EVER

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

1/1 Had fun.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I made 9000 point. Oh wait, there is no points. That's the only complain :P

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Without a score counter or a timer, the game doesn't have much meaning. The racing aspect is fun though, so hopefully you can reuse that for a more interesting game.

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Annoying that it plays immediately (I wasn't even focused on that tab yet), and that I have to hit refresh to start over. Clever use of theme, and I liked the 1 explosion when you "crash"

mortus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Despite the fact it's very basic, I find the game very moody in its own unique way. I also love the theme is literally everywhere in the game, it's made of the theme entirely. Good job for 1 hour!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:13am

simple but can keep you entertained for ONE min (sorry not a funy joke). Yea i like it, just wish there was some replayability like a scorboard or something. I know you only did this in an hour but some veriaty and compatition and you would have a solid enough game. good job :D

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:16am

This is the most dedicated take on the theme that I've seen. Good work! It would be nice if I could restart the game without refreshing.

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:48am

Not sure if it's because I'm on a mac, but pressing '1' for me did nothing, despite refreshing several times and hitting the key in different ways (tapping, holding it down).

DustyStylus says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Key working fine on OSX here. Nice concept, does exactly what it says on the tin! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]