December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Xbowan

by VikingJonathan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's the game I made!
I've spent about 25 hours in total on development, during the 48 allotted hours.

Controls: WASD and Left mouse button.

There's no sound in the game (woops).

The game is very short.
It was created with the intention of being a lot longer, but failure to decide upon a proper setting/look for the game made the development take a lot more time than I initially thought.

It's also missing a brightness setting, so monitors with a darker setting might have a hard time seeing things.

The theme was supposed to be reinforced in the form of the bolt/arrow that you're shooting, but it might have ended up a bit vague.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#564Graphics2.80
#626Mood2.58
#818Innovation2.37
#876Fun2.26
#945Theme1.90
#969Overall2.19
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Cool crossbow!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Took me a little while to figure out I could stand on the bolt to climb, and it was very hard to see where to go or figure out what to do. But the idea is very interesting, and I like the look of the bolt lighting up it's path (similar to our game in fact!).

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:24am

@Nielen I checked out your game, and the way you did the exploration with the light is just fantastic. I only wish my game could have been more like yours! :)

Phyyl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:35am

Really hard to find a goal, maybe some instructions?

danbo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:57am

I really liked the abstract nature of the environment. The message on the floor at the end was pretty nice too :P

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:58am

@Phyyl I really wanted the game to be self-explanatory, but here's a quick guide/walkthrough if you just want to get through the game; At the first part you jump on the bolt to get up, after that you light up the torches (shooting through a torch lights the bolt on fire), and shoot the ice block/wall with a fire bolt. Then just make your way to the other side of the maze area, you can light up torches for more vision.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:29am

Took me awhile to get it but I really liked the idea once I learned what was going on. I think the brightness I had was a bit too frustrating to work with in the end though.

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:36am

Well, I'm confusing a little bit. There are no goal. But, crossbow is inspires ))

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:03am

Strange, abstract mood and nice concept, I'd like to see it developed further! :) But the game is too dark in my opinion...

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Would have liked a reticle, I also died because I clipped through the floor. I liked the lighting that the bolt gives you. Nice for looking ahead and plotting a course.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Strange game, lacks instruction, concept seems cool though !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]