December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Teleport Hopper

by MrBlade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the quake of a nuclear spill, one man crawled out of the rubble, one man with superhuman abilities. Able to bound large distances and teleport, this man is, the Teleport Hopper.

Tools That I Used:
Notepad ++ - Text Editor (Website: http://notepad-plus-plus.org/)
C++ (Base) - Programming Language
SDL - Library (Website: http://www.libsdl.org/)
OpenGL / SDL (SDL_opengl.h) - Library (See SDL link^)
SOIL - Library used for loading graphics. (Website: http://www.lonesock.net/soil.html)
SFXR - Sounds. (Website: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html)
MinGW - Compiler For C++ (Website: http://www.mingw.org/)
Photoshop CS2 - Graphics. (Website no longer available.)

My take on the theme was that you only have one object (a block) you can control in different levels and you have to solve puzzles with it.

(Special thanks to Caleb Jones! Thank you so much for your help and support!)

=*Patch Notes:*=
1.01v - Fixed tutorial 'Press space to jump.' to 'Press W to jump.'. Updated link.
1.02v - Fixed tutorial added 'Arrow Keys' to the moving controls.

Play it and let me know what you think!
~Blade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#197Theme3.45
#360Humor2.57
#706Fun2.55
#716Audio1.80
#737Innovation2.52
#806Overall2.61
#892Mood2.04
#954Graphics1.83

Comments

Moochoomon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14am

Nice one Mr. Blade, This game is pretty good! Keep on coding...

Samsturai22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Interesting idea!

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Somehow the bad art made it good? idek

Polygun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

A good game, I looked at past submitions of yours and you're doing great! Keep up the good work!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

It's great to watch you improve! A jumping game like this definitely needs better gravity and jumping, but you did quite well with what you could manage.

Also, I had a bit of fun porting it. Hope you like it.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Considering this was made in C++, you went pretty far. I wouldn't know how to play sounds in SDL (or the social media links either). Good stuff.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice game I should if it was longer

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Simple, short, to the point and an interesting idea. You managed to finish you game and I think that shows that you know how to plan for a game jam. I hope to see more of your stuff next jam!

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08am

Nice game. I liked the use of theme. I feel like falling should have been a little faster and some more levels would be awesome.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:58am

Very nice idea :) Graphic style is a bit simple, but it works for me !

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:06am

So simple, so much fun.
Good job!

creative630 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Cool game dude, maybe try out different physics for the jump/gravity. Otherwise the puzzles suited the mechanics. Whats a pizza roll?!? Sounds delicious...

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice adaption of the theme. A bit easy though.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:06am

...I should probably give you a tutorial on how to do physics properly, because these are really clunky.

But on second thoughts, maybe I shouldn't. It might inhibit your creativity.

Audio worked fine. Graphics were pretty meh but didn't make me want to tear my eyes out so I'll give you that - plus they were fairly clear. It wasn't amazingly fun but it wasn't tedious either.

The theme didn't come through particularly heavily (perhaps you could have added, say, conveyor belts?), but it was a nice idea - just needed some expansion. And yeah, it was a bit of a push-over.

Overall, nothing spectacular, but nice work - and congratulations on making a game that doesn't crash.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:50am

@GreaseMonkey thank you very much for the input! You seem to be in a clear mind and I appreciate you didn't sugar coat your thoughts. The physics are very clunky, I agree with you. Even though it's only been about a week and half since I made this, I have taught myself much better physics, proper jumping, more solid collision, etc. I like that you are not forcing your views onto me, and wish for me to learn at my own pace. I am not an artist, and as you said, that shows. Haha. This was first LD game to even have art, let alone graphics, so give me some room in that department. I was hoping they would make you tear your eyes, aw, mission failed. Conveyor belts sound like an interesting idea. Now that I know how to implement better physics and have a better overall design structure, I could probably implement okay conveyor belts in a number of days. I agree with what you are saying as far as this game being a pushover, I sort of agree. I wasn't really proud of this game, and I didn't like the theme. This LD I didn't have as much drive to make something I was proud of. As you can see from the progress I have made, I used this as a learning experience. Again, thank you very much for your input.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

A good use of the theme! Physics need a bit of work, but did the job regardless. Kudos for C++ :D

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I think the game worked pretty well. Not too many one plays to the end. With some elaboration of level design the placement of the blue block wouldn't have to be as obvious as in the current levels, which I think would make the game a little better.

shatley123 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 8:53am

Cool game, i love the concept. I guess my only criticism is the jumping is a little feels a little weird.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]