December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost in Space

by loxo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You made a stupid bet with one of your relatives and now you're lost in space. You only get one year to find back home ...

The game is playable, but only the basics are implemented. Most of the details I wanted are missing, so there are no space fights or dodging of asteroids.
Only one hint is in the game to help to find your home.

Tools:
MacBook Air 11"
vi to create the javascript and html files
gimp to create the few simple graphics
chrome to run the game

HINT: don't forget to buy fuel

BUGS:
if the web page isn't completely displayed (scrollbars are visible), the buttons don't work correctly *fixed*
it's impossible to buy fuel, when cargo hold is full *fixed*

Please let me know, if you found another bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#293Theme3.24
#334Humor2.63
#335Innovation3.14
#398Mood2.91
#504Graphics2.92
#657Overall2.81
#735Audio1.71
#802Fun2.39

Comments

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42am

I think this game fit the theme quite well and it has interesting premise. The space travel is too empty for now (since I see that you doesn't implemented space battle/asteroid avoider in it). Also, I can't immersed in the gameplay, maybe because each planet is not different with other with no description on them, also the trading mechanic is not for me personally.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Couldn't get the "next" button to work on the main screen. Chrome, Windows 8.

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

It is very hard to judge, because you can feel a deep game with all the options you have to chose from (even if it is overwhelming). And the space travel part is a little long. Maybe you can strip down some items, like keeping only 3 and balance with that.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Nice game dude, the planets could use some differences, love the dialogues

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57pm

I like where the game is going but one can see that you didnt get as far with the gameplay as you hoped. With a more fleshed out trading and clue system (+ whatever you planned for the travel segments) this could be quite entertaining!

Didn't find the clue though.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Somehow on the second planet I went to, the "go" button no longer appeared, and I could not travel further.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Love the premise. It would be cool to see the other things you had in mind implemented. The traveling through space could be a bit shorter.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

difficult game but very interesting. Would have liked to see some of the stuff you wanted to put in but this is a good entry well done!

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14am

hmmm is there a way to make money? do any of the items do anything? I like the mysterious uncle. I am a bit intrigued at the idea, and it would be interesting to see it developed more.

hazzen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59am

Too many options, and once you find a route that makes money there is nothing stopping you from doing a bunch of runs on it to make a fortune, then you can afford all the fuel you want.

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Wasn't able to find home, but kittens made me rich. :D

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Hmmm, the idea is interesting, but of course, you still need to place the hints around the galaxy for the game to be finishable. I think this has promise :-)

But maybe next LD you should reduce your scope? Just the "find the hints" mechanics should be a pretty good game already, but if you add things like space combat, asteroids and trading, it can quickly become way more than you can chew. Try to concentrate on doing one thing really well! :-)

See you next LD!

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:45pm

No sounds, but the gameplay is interesting! You create a mini star wars lol

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28am

I like the setup: explore, resources, travel, look for your place... agree with others that this could be developed further.

Nicely done.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Can't juge, I am stuck too soon :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Hah, the intro was kind of abrupt. xD Random uncle saying all that out of nowhere.
The game itself is hard to grasp with all those options, but yeah, it has an interesting premise and potential. Keep working on it!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:53pm

The idea is very nice, but I can't find any hints where I have to go. Maybe I'm playing it wrong :D

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice work, I found it a little bit slow but I like the simple interface.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I'm not smart enough to understand the gameplay completly.
But I love it. I must say that the story, and graphics are amazing.

Glad to see someone work with both gameplay and story!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:06am

This could became an interesting game: it has a nice idea, some funny dialogues, but as it stands it seems too incomplete - there seems to be no incentive to use many of the game's mechanics.

I lost interest before I found the hint :(

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:00pm

With a bit of work could be a good space-trading game.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I feel like there are some elements missing which would've completed the game, probably time constraints. I liked the uncle interaction.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Although the objective was rather difficult, it's a pretty good take on the theme and the core travelling mechanic is pretty solid. Would definitely love to see a more fleshed out post-compo version.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:49am

I had a feeling that the kittens probably had something to do with it. A lot of good work put into this, would like to see a post-compo version as well. Nicely done. :)

kibertoad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:51pm

can you finish it at the next ld? art and idea look promising, and themes tend to be quite optional in this kind of games. I would love to see some actual exploration.

Nelien says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:10pm

The concept is really good and I'm a massive sucker for Elite-style games; too bad you didn't get to finish it, maybe do a postcompo?

plancien says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

A promising game. Spend a few days working on it, and if it's well balanced it will be very good.

bttf says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Interesting concept, cool design... Game mechanics were pretty cool, with space travel and all that ...

Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Looks very professional. I like the concept, though the plot is a bit too silly (unless "Bob" has a more sinister reason for marooning you in space). As far as I can tell, space fights aren't needed: just exploring space and trading for fuel is tense enough for me.

However, as far as I can tell, there's no way of figuring out how to get to Earth, so I can't rate the game very highly. However, it would be cool if you made a post-compo version with more stuff implemented.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very interesiting, but it takes a long time to complete and it's hard. I didn't complete it, but it was fun! Awesome job.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Love the basic drugwars trade sim implementation with fuel and distance. I can see the narrative bits didn't quite get finished (I couldn't find any hints), but that would've fit the theme pretty well.

The space travel seemed a little tedious without anything else going on, but it was impressive the first couple of times.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:39am

Wow, an Elite Clone! For a Compo, it's quite an ambitiuos project... High rates!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:52am

Great idea! A space trading simulation made in a game jam! AMAZING! It seems a bit pot luck that you may find your home planet, but I am a fan of trading kittens and goats to ensure you can keep your ship fuelled.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Definitely an interesting game! Well Done!

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:23pm

As you sort of pointed out (I think), it felt like the game lacked some components such as things happening in transit between planets. For it to become more fun, there would need to be more clues and interactions with the uncle and more variation between the planets. A good start though.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Next button wasn't working for me either. :(

Google Chrome, Windows 8.1

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:17pm

verry nicely made but i think your right about it needing the substance to keep playing. It reminds me of the ur-quan masters. anyway verry tidaly implimented with nice visuals and an interesting introduction. well done

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:48am

A really impressive amount of scope for 2 days. Not my cup of tea, but impressive nonetheless.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:38am

Neat game. It sort of reminded me of Trade Wars 2002 with the docking and buying/selling goods concept.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:42am

Great Game !

hadesfury says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Great Game ! I tried two time ... I became rich but did not find the clue for home ... tried to see a word in planet arrangement, tried to revert all planet names, even to match home in anagram ( had a planet named MOHE once ) the vessel name in anagram also but did not succeed

hadesfury says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Great Game ! I tried two time ... I became rich but did not find the clue for home ... tried to see a word in planet arrangement, tried to revert all planet names, even to match home in anagram ( had a planet named MOHE once ) the vessel name in anagram also but did not succeed. I also try HOME in Nethelands inverted SIUH :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]