December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asshole Ducks

by thatwhichis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A soothing game about feeding ducks except you hate some of them arbitrarily and if they take more than one food while there are still starving ducks out there you probably hate them too maybe. YOU ONLY GET ONE, DUCKS. Also there's a scoreboard.

Chrome recommended! Mother approved. (NSFW language.) Actually plays pretty decently in Safari on an iPhone 5S (but not on my desktop? loool), so take it with you to the terlet and play while you poop! Or don't. Or do, but please don't tell us about it. (Or DO. o_O) (Don't.)

-thatwhichis

"Well, animals are a lot like people, Mrs. Simpson. Some of them act badly because they've had a hard life, or have been mistreated; but, like people, some of them are just jerks."

IOMPORTANT Edit: Added post-compo version with slightly reworked launch numbers; should be easier to launch shorter ranges. Still recommend compo version! :-D

Edit: Now with more blog post!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/15/a-hole-ducks/

Edit: Now with MORE more blog post!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/16/faq-and-post-mortem/

Also, if you like the song and would like a copy, you could download un .wav version here:
http://www.thatwhichismedia.com/LD28/media/assholeducks.wav

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#43Humor3.79
#490Audio2.54
#521Theme2.82
#524Fun2.83
#626Mood2.58
#709Innovation2.57
#766Overall2.67
#789Graphics2.30

Comments

davidjsushil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30am

Yup. This is the entry to beat, right here. Gosh darn you, ThatWhichIs, how come you such great games make?!1

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41am

is the way. *serious FACE.* :-D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

Loved this game! At first the controls were unintuitive but then they became very satisfying.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Bahaha, funny! Also the sound was great.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

The controls were great! I liked the way you could shoot the food directly down the duck's gullet - sort of a foie gras simulator. I didn't like it when I ran out of white ducks - I ended up having to feed an asshole duck. Maybe it was because two good ducks ate the same food.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

I have to say, this is the best game featuring asshole ducks that I've ever played.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Thanks, dawgs, glad you liked it!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

JoeProgram: It was an issue of which I was aware, so I added some extra white ducks. They do wander, though! I sometimes spend a minute or two waiting for a white duck to make his way back to me, all, "yo, I want food." I try to use to time for to reach enlightenment. :-D

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Ducks! Quite a hilarious game. Why are they not in a pond?

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

Because they don't deserve a pond. >:-O

LET THEM GLIDE GRACEFULLY ACROSS THE GRASS, THEIR WADDLES FORGOTTEN IN THE WINDS OF TIME I SAY!

Zolmeister: passing out for the night but I'll check your entry out tomorry!

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

those ducks are nuts

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Haha that was surprisingly fun XD

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Nice music ;)

Broxxar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Hilarious all around.

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Really epic OST to this game

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Do you guys want the song? I guess I could make it available for DL somewhere...

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

Song location added to notes, if'n anybody wants. :-)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice music, very simple graphics but a fun as hell gameplay. And the most creative take on the theme I've seen yet. Well done, sir!

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

hehehe that was fun. not really sticking to the theme, but who cares?

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Whaaaaaat? But the ducks they only gets one! I say to them, "You only get one, ducks!" Like IRL!

lol, thanks for playing everybody! I am immensely enjoying all of your games.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I could've used this launch mechanic in my game. Why didn't you tell me!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16am

That wasn't relaxing in the slightest... Great game!!

chardish says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:37am

I love subtle interpretations of the theme like this.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:23pm

The controls seemed a little hard for me to get

The music was intense.

The scoring mechanic was pretty cool.

Pretty good!

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:38pm

GOD DAMNIT ASSHOLE DUCKS, STOP EATING IT ALL

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:27pm

IS WHAT I'M SAYING, RIGHT??!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Asshole ducks should move a bit slower for every piece of ill gotten bread they consume, the bastards.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Liked the organ music, represented the general mood and sentiment of duck feeding.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Haha, awesome! :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Awesome instructions are awesome. Those ducks are clearly assholes.

deathray says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:38am

Ha! High points for humor and the game works well. Only thing: I wish i could throw the food underhand so it's slower, rather than firing it out like a bullet.
(BTW: My game should be playable now.)

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:13am

Right, talking at people!

JohhnySix: A friend of mine recommended the same thing! He also suggested the assholes gain weight over time, which also seems interesting, but he suggested that while I was in the middle of working on the leaderboard integration and I was all like, "eh, whatevskies, I'll fix it in post." Conversely, I thought about making the unfed ducks get slower and lose weight from round to round. As of right now, the asshole ducks get a.... +20? ish? Modifier to their speed randomization with every successive round, and even that is working okay but not 'xactly as I wanted it to so, y'know, ::shrugs::!

deathray: You can throw a little slower but you gotsta get closer to yourself (uhh...) than I would like; is tweakable, but don't want to mess with anything while voting goes on. :-)

THANK YOU ALL FOR PLAYING AND FOR FEEDBACK(NO PUN INTENDED). LD is bestust!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:56am

Great entry.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Simple, fun, great entry. I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/mLdQN8xdVMY

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Hey thanks, both!

Jupiter_Hadley: You played my team's submission last LD; keep rockin'!

atombrot says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Took a while 'til I got how to use the controls. Was short but funny :)

Piat says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

interesting to say the least, asshole ducks keep getting at my food, assholes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]