December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Got One Shot

by sekaru - Jam Entry

You Only Got One Shot

As the title implies - you only get one bullet. Each player has one bullet and the aim of the game is to kill your opponent. If both players miss it will cause a draw.

NOTES:
- Launch the server first. If you want to play with friends over the internet you need to portforward port 9001 (TCP) and 9002 (UDP).
- Local multiplayer is available.
- The game requires Java 1.7

CONTROLS:
- W/A/S/D: Movement.
- Left Mouse Button: Shoot.
- Escape: Go back to menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#143Fun(Jam)3.22
#175Theme(Jam)3.09
#243Audio(Jam)2.97
#258Humor(Jam)2.38
#269Overall(Jam)3.09
#330Innovation(Jam)2.68
#373Graphics(Jam)2.81
#394Mood(Jam)2.55

Comments

Dikkop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Minimalistic but very fun. Definitely worth the time of forwarding your ports. There's a lot of entries with the one bullet idea but this is the first one that is just plain fun.

Well done!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Did not work for me... maybe I didn't have java 7?

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:34am

@Dikkop, thanks! @Jezzamon well if you had any error messages let me know but if you do have Java 7 installed it should work just fine.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54am

YEAH! this is so fun if you play with other people very cool game this is awesome! Great work! i also love the epic screen movement when someone shoots! you should continue doing this! like making a game system like Halo where the players are choose ranomly, ranks, and all of that :D

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10am

This is a lot of fun. Really great game. We got three people together and played a few rounds. Really wish you could support more than two people at the same time, though!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:33am

Unfortunately had no friends to play with on that

however simple but well executed, music is cool too ^^

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:43am

Had problems when running two clients on the same linux machine. Only the selected client would update and the other one would queue every action until I switched over. After using two computers everything worked fine though.

Graphics are fine. Multiplayer is great (and I now from my own entry how much problems that can give you, nearly didn't make the deadline when I found out that the server wouldn't properly work on the intended windows machine).

Music is fun and the game is pretty good for what it does. Best one-shot-game so far. May try it later with a friend.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:03am

It's nice to see lots of multiplayer games this time round, awesome!

anvoz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Sadly I still haven't found anyone to play with yet. The graphics on your screenshots look good. Nice sound. I will come back to try this game soon :)

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Interesting game, fun idea!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Really fun game, played with a roommie and ended up being a good time! good work.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Cool, love it when people do multiplayer, we had alot fun :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Hmm... it doesn't work for me. I'm on OSX 10.9.1 running Java Version 1.7.0_25

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:55pm

If I'm honest I'm not quite sure why and the fact that I don't have a Mac to test it doesn't really help. Sorry. Is it giving any error messages or anything?

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Multiplayer is great fun, it's a good thing I had my flatmate to try this out with. Simple but effective!

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice idea and well executed!
I like the graphics-style :)
Great work!

creative630 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Seems interesting, I had as much fun as I could by myself :) I'll find a friend to play it :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:18pm

sekaru, nope, just flashes the window and closes.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Oh. I ran it from the command line and it gave me this error:
Wed Dec 18 15:20:34 EST 2013 INFO:Slick Build #264
Wed Dec 18 15:20:34 EST 2013 INFO:LWJGL Version: 2.8.5
Wed Dec 18 15:20:34 EST 2013 INFO:OriginalDisplayMode: 1920 x 1080 x 32 @0Hz
Wed Dec 18 15:20:34 EST 2013 INFO:TargetDisplayMode: 600 x 240 x 0 @0Hz
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
_NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Try this, when running it from the command line, add "-nojvm" to the end.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:25am

Cool game. The movement wasn't quite right, but other than that, I love the effects.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:23am

I love music and graphics!

ehtd says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:17pm

link for download did not worked for me

sekaru says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Currently in the process of transferring to another host. Here's a temporary link: http://sleepystudios.com/downloads/yogos.zip

tchem says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:35pm

great!! fun game

Harsay says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Well propably I am the only one who tested it with someone. :D
We found few bugs. When first player had 0 bullets left and the second player shoot level instantly restarted. When my friend connected he had some jumping bugs. It's a very nice game and I'm looking for future versions because it has potential to be a good casual game to play with friends. And I mention to forgot... you should add some option to lower the music volume and option to run fullscreen mode. :)

sekaru says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:49am

Yeah I'm aware of the bugs, didn't really have time to fix them. Same goes for an options menu of any sort.

Insinical says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:44pm

VERY GOOD AND FUN TO PLAY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]