December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Desperado

by ShellfishGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Desperado - a King of the Hill style game without a twist: There are a lot of individuals in this game, but you only get one hill. Capture it by banishing and/or destroying your opponents!

WASD to Move, Space to Jump/Stomp (you'll need it!), LMB to Use Weapons, Mouse to Aim (3 of the 8 available weapons require proper aiming).
H for Help, ESC to pause.

Game runs on Windows only, requires DX9.0c (available here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=34429 ) and runs in 1024x768 window mode. Hope that's OK with most of you - if not, my apologies. I'll try to upload a video of the game sooner or later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#186Humor3.11
#206Fun3.33
#259Innovation3.27
#301Audio2.88
#355Graphics3.20
#362Mood2.95
#366Overall3.17
#570Theme2.73

Comments

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Good game! This could make a decent basis for a multi-player game in the future. Good music and array of weapons.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

One of my favorite LD games I've played so far. Great visuals, great comedic vibe, and fun gameplay. Difficulty could probably increase faster since it can get a bit dull once you get the hang of things, but overall great stuff.

turnip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

That was awesome! I made to it to level 50 before losing. Great work!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Cute little characters, and lots of weapon variation. The game didn't ramp up the challenge enough, though, so I got bored after playing to wave 33 or so.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

great gfx ..i cant imagine how hard it was to make things go around and over the hill.. my only gripe was having to hit 'return' as one of my hands were already on wasd and space and the other on the mouse.. surely 'space to continue' would of been handy'r?! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. You're right - I just played to level 158 until I lost.
I changed a few things relatively late that had some impact on the balancing, so I wasn't really aware of the problem. I'll make sure to solve that for the Post-Compo version (and add a few new weapons - suggestions are welcome!).

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very fun game! wasnt sure what to do at first but once i figured it out it was very enjoyable

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

For some reason editing the entry has no effect, so I'll put it here: A gameplay video of Desperado containing more or less everything there is to the game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2_oFxoXIwkk

Doesn't replace playing though! :P

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Solid concept and super-fun to play. I had a bit of trouble telling when the blues were on the hill or not (maybe a color change or angry face animation? I loved how the gui was part of the landscape.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49pm

It's like a childhood sim!
Awesome..

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Really addicting and fun game to play. This definetely has great potential as a multiplayer game.

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Really addictive. Lots of fun!
A lot of the weaponry seemed quite powerful, and the enemies bounces seemed a bit unpredictable. Not a good kind of unpredictable.
Also, it was a bit difficult to see the enemies on the backside of the mound.
However, the game had great sounding effects and music, a good looking game, and fun gameplay.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nice little thing you got there... loved the UI.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very addicting! Sure get's messy in later stages ;)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Reached 60 and got tired a bit. A really well-made entry, especially the design and the gameplay.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I love how bloody the hill got.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Dude, question:

Did you use a 3D game engine for this or is it, as I suspect, a 2d game engine with a prerendered backgronund and some incredibly elaborate method for moving the bad guys and cursor as if it's on a 3D surface?

Because if it's the latter, holy shit dude, that's fucking amazing.

If not, oh well, it's still pretty fun :P .

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:50pm

@Alex - it is indeed the incredibly elaborate latter method. ;)
But Actually it's relatively simple. World To Screen Transformation for bad guys/player/grenades and stuff (x,y,z) -> (x,0.5*y-z) (z being the height and x,y the ground coordinates). And all the ground decals, shadows, "HUD" and the cursor are rendered to a texture from a completely top down perspective, and this texture is then drawn to the screen with some kind of displacement mapping to achieve the 3D effect.
Have a look at the contents of the media folder if you like. "texture.png" is the top down ground texture, and "coords.png" a texture that implies a mapping from the screen coordinates to the ground texture.

Thanks for your interest, and thanks everybody here for the kind words. I'm glad most of you enjoy the game! :)

I'm actually working on the post-compo version right now, with more weapons, unlockable stuff and local Multiplayer. http://imageshack.com/a/img89/9775/6bgr.png

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very interesting game, I felt it was very easy, but I had fun anyway. Also I liked the aesthetics and how the permanence of some effects affects the visual style of the hill.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Great funny game :D

Dikkop says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:58pm

When starting up I get this error: Missing DLL MSVCR37.Dll

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Neat idea, and well executed. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Very nice game. Love the combination of 2d and 3d graphics. Keep up the good work.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Interesting graphics style. And easily the bloodiest game I have ever seen :D

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Pretty cool, but I got all the way to 135 and decided to quit because the difficulty above 50 is very similar and it doesn't seem to get harder after that. Very well presented though, and nice music.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice game, Challenging ! Love the 2d 3d mix. Great job !

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Awesome! Great graphics and music. Solid gameplay! I've loved it! Great job :D

If you have time please rate my game too :)

runvs says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Nice Game. Sound is really cool. I would love to see a two Player Version of this Game!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Hey there, wanted to let you know I updated the game to fix the problem you were having!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=14399

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I love how completely blood stained the hill eventually gets. I wish the difficulty curve ramped up a little quicker though. Love all the weapons you included. Also loved the little hat. Great game!

Ras Lyon says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:36am

I wish I could play your game, but I don't have windows. :^(
I'd thought about this concept, so I'm curious to see how it turned out for you!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Haha, this is a lot of fun - good work. :)

local minimum says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Sorry, can't run it due to missing dll (MSVCR71.dll). Tried installing the link above but didn't help.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]