December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seed

by deadlypear - Jam Entry

You have one seed. Plant it wisely to take over the whole lawn in the least number of auto-run turns.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Theme(Jam)3.50
#73Innovation(Jam)3.47
#232Graphics(Jam)3.33
#307Audio(Jam)2.73
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#495Fun(Jam)2.06
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

i really loved the concept here, it was just simple and full of life.

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Really beautiful art. I would love to see this turned into a deeper turn based puzzle game with many seeds rather than just one. With more clear interaction feedback between different terrain types, I would know which layouts of garden would grow the fastest. Right now I'm not sure I got how to best choose the ideal spot. GREAT WORK!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like the concept!
I'd suggest more player feedback. Can't really weigh my choices at the moment.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08am

The graphics are pretty good!

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Simple. Loving the art style.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Cool art style... funny music... but is this really a game ^^ Nice to watch... what else t do?

deadlypear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:01am

Thanks for playing and commenting! Of course we had further ideas for this... that you'd only get one seed, but you would get multiple helpful items such as watering can, compost, etc. to battle and direct the growth versus the weeds taking over... so yeah, more interactive. Right now it's just pick a spot and watch it grow, but hey, it's just a seed of an idea... and we had a fun time making it for the jam. :-)

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:17am

I love it! You get only one seed of weed )

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:49am

Upbeat and lively, a really nice idea and the first cellular automata I've come across this LD! I think I found an attractor state because it kept running for over a minute without significantly changing state. Lovely music and graphics, it is juicy but I'm not sure I really understood what made the best start position, being unable to execute the CA in my head ... Have you found any garden of eden states?!! ;)

ploogle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:22pm

It wasn't entirely clear to me what was going on, but it looked cool while it was happening!

plancien says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

A cellular-automata game ! Great idea, and beautiful graphics.
Could you add a replay button when it took too long to complete ? My first try was really bad, it never ended, I had to relaunch the game.
And without giving us the simulation rules in detail (that would spoil the puzzle), you could guide the player with one or two vague indications.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice graphics and music, just wish there was more interaction. The first seed I planted I waited for about five minutes and the game still didn't finish, so I was confused if there was something else I had to do. After a few more playthroughs I learned to pick better places to plant the seed based on the surrounding terrains. Great job!

Sebastian says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Very cool concept! I think if this went in a more puzzle-game direction it could be really interesting to figure out the best place to plant your one seed.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:41am

Not much gameplay, but very clever concept and well made!

Diptoman says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:12am

The concept was great, the beautiful music and the dynamism made it enjoyable. I would have really liked some more information, it was hard to figure out what was enhancing or inhibiting growth, since everything was going so fast. Placing the seed in a corner seemed you yield the best results. But I liked this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]