December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get 1

by Monoquartz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of this game is to only get ones. But it may happen that you need to disregard this rule...
To complete each levels, you need to collect the two "1" and go to light gray area.
They are only 8 levels.

Arrows keys to move
R to Restart
Space to switch multiply/divide modes

PS: This game doesn't have music or lots of levels because I only started to make it on Sunday (school). Hope you like it !
___________________________________________________________________________

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#228Innovation3.33
#274Theme3.28
#319Overall3.23
#455Fun2.92
#495Humor2.25
#623Graphics2.69
#689Mood2.48

Comments

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

I like the mechanic a lot; resizing based on pick-ups reminds me of Alice in Wonderland and could be a really good foundation for a puzzle game in the way that bigger = larger jump size, but less able to fit through gaps. Good stuff!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

I think the artwork is surprisingly well made and the gameplay interesting. I had at the start some problems in understanding the mechanics, for instance the dividing part. Would help a lot if it was better explained!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00am

Cool, a nice puzzle platformer!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32am

Cool, Scratch!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Nice game, pretty original, though I didn't know I could divide after I came across the second level. Simple artstyle, but it fits well the gameplay. The level design is good too, I just wished I could restart at the level I failed rather than from scratch. (lol)
Anyway, good job, considering the little amount of time you spent on it! ;)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32pm

(P.S.: Sorry I just noticed it was possible to restart a level with R. x) )

mippy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice puzzle, but I could not figure out how to win :( Enjoyed the graphics though!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I think that is the best thing made in scratch I've ever played.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Really cool, fun mechanic with the size multiplication. Has a lot of potential. Art was consistent and well done, reminded me of classic Game Boy games.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

For me hitting space would only scroll down the page but not switch the modes.

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

What is the goal? How do I win? I like the mechanics, though.

Rhinan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Lovely! I caught myself playing much longer than I intended to. Great short levels, not too difficult or easy. I feel I should tell you I gave you my highest score so far. :)

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Thanks all for your feedbacks ! :)

EatThePath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38pm

A very neat idea. Almost got stuck on the second level because I didn't notice the instructions were in a scrollbox and the spacebar instruction was below the view window.

Also, it seems annoyingly possible to get stuck in things while sizing up, and all the levels I played seems to have the same gimmick of multiply by two early on, and then divide by two by the end of the level. More variety in that or variety sooner, would be welcome.

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Oooh, now I get it! Very creative take on the theme. I couldn't figure out the goal because the light grey area was almost camouflaged! Great job with this!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43am

This is a pretty punny/funny twist on the theme, and the math mechanic is interesting to boot! There could be a bit more in-game instruction as to how the player switches between multiplication and division, though.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13am

Ah i get it! I got stuck for ages on the second level but then realized i had to divide! Awesome concept, great work!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:11am

Great puzzles, I liked em. Very challenger! The gameplay works well. The movement mechanic just need a little more of
adjustment. Good job anyway!

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I liked the idea best among other games I've played. Hope you keep working on this and make it a full game someday!

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice short platformer. Could use some more levels and some other way to use the mechanincs.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Witty take on the theme. Good game, but some of the platform jumps were a bit awkward.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Very neat idea! Quite refreshing, I must say.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Hard puzzles ! Nice concept though, well done

Xanjos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Pretty cool multiply/divide mechanic and the level design was well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]