December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Get One: Crappy Torch

by robopossum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my first ever entry into Ludum Dare, i have tried to take part in the past, but lack of foresight on my part always let me down. During day 1, didn't have any solid idea, so i was just adding stuff, hoping for some game mechanic to come to mind, and what i came up with was you get one second to collect a thing, and it respawns, and you collect it again, and your score is based on how long you spent collecting the thing. Pretty rubbish, so at 10pm on Saturday i changed idea, and made what i am entering now. I included my first idea as well, but i overwrite the textures, so the player sprite sort of looks like an armchair, but it is still playable.

Edit - I have improved the torch's brightness, so you shouldn't have to strain your eyes so much now

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#408Mood2.90
#451Theme2.97
#528Overall2.97
#542Humor2.14
#551Graphics2.82
#620Innovation2.73
#745Audio1.56
#750Fun2.48
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

lofe09 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:25pm

I really like the idea, good job

poingferret says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Well done, but ye gods... :-)

Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Good game, I like the torch idea overall

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16am

I had fun playing this (and reading your description)! :D

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29am

Good job, it turned out well. The only annoyance for me was that the player always wanted to face up when no keys were pressed, which affected the way the light was cast. Thanks for including the scrapped game too, I always like seeing that kind of progression :)

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35am

Good job. It's pretty hard.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36am

wow that torch is crappy...

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39am

That torch really is crappy. Maybe a bit too crappy, because I didn't have much fun looking for the next opening while hoping not to encounter any monsters.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51am

Really nice visuals on the torch :)

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57am

Idea was good and everything felt solid and polished. So great job on it overall! Graphics and the torch effect was the best part.

I think the torch was a bit too crappy though. Maybe not more field of vision, but a bit more contrast. It was frustrating that even the walls completely next to you were hard to see. I think adding contrast (most lit up areas are brighter than now) would take away some frustration therefore adding fun. But if you keep the field of view the same the challenge still remains.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Good game! Interesting mechanic - lovely use of light and shadow. I think you can make a really atmospheric top down survival horror game like this - just add creepy audio. :) Well done!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

Whew it's dark in there. Good game. Aaaand I don't think it's a torch :P

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16am

two games in the price of one? SOLD! Also, the torch concept is nice and creepy, good play on theme and works for me!

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21am

You captured the feeling of being in the dark with a flashlight perfectly! I was thinking of an idea along these lines at first but didn't know how to pull it off. You did it, well done.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35am

Fun to play, but a little too dark :P I could barely see anything!

Lizzip says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:33am

I like it. Nice torch mechanic thingy

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Cool idea, but maybe the torch is kinda too crappy?
It was really frustrating trying to navigate through the maze without seeing anything.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I like the use of the torch, good game.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50pm

The game was really cool but the maze had small openings and combined with the gimmicky controls was hard

Anny says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:03am

Great idea! I would have loved it more if it had had audio (perhaps it was just me, I don't know, but I couldn't hear anything)

SamH says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:31am

A very good idea, but the lighting implementation needs some debug/polish. Sometimes I could see two or three walls behind the one I was touching, and sometimes I couldn’t see a wall that was two meters in front of me. Graphics are nice, though, it has good potential overall.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

Great job on a first entry. It is a challenge to release anything complete. you made a good entry. Ideas changing throughout the jam is normal, limited time limits what you can do. Be proud, you made a game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]