December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heart

by arrogant.gamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** NEWS: Screen flashing in Chrome fixed ***

Heart is a zelda-like in which you start with 1 heart instead of 3. This makes the game more challenging, but there's more. To win the game, you need the Heart Blade so that you can fight evil. To wield the Master Sword, you need 3 hearts. The only way to get a heart, is for another player to give you theirs.

To play, you need to log in with your twitter account. The rest of the instructions can be found through playing the game. The game is, sadly, extremely short. I consider you a winner if you: get 3 hearts, wield the Heart Blade, and slay all evil.

There is a leader-board, which will display the players
with the most hearts.

-- CONTROLS --

Arrows to move, space to attack (when you have the sword), x to give someone your heart.

-- KNOWN ISSUES --

The screen transition is buggy: don't hold keys down while the screen is sliding, or the game will probably freeze. Who knew that could be so hard!

Once you get the sword, maybe swinging it too much will freeze the game? I've only seen it once.

-- ATTENTION --
As discovered by @nicolasdet, you need to use the twitter handle, not the user name, of the person1 to whom you give your heart. For example, my handle is @ArrogantGamer, but my name is arrogant.gamer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#633Theme2.62
#648Innovation2.67
#773Humor1.44
#822Graphics2.21
#908Mood1.90
#992Fun1.65
#1000Overall1.93

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

What the twitter, man...

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Sorry dude, but I'm not going to authenticate my twitter to play your game. :-( I wont rate it, but you may want to fix that.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08pm

interestion idea, but even if i had twitter .. but don't stop the innovations!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Apologies; I didn't read the full instructions. Didn't realize it was a multiplayer. That's a clever idea.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:23pm

I apologize to all the folks who don't have twitter... but listen: not everyone gets to be a hero.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Good idea! Anyway, can someone please give me a heart? Pleassse! You can find me under this name (or maybe nicolasdet)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Ha ha! Thanks, you are the first! I will give you MY HEART! (but you need three to get the sword...)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I don't understand the complaints about Twitter; the game only asks to read your tweets and see who you follow, something anyone can do. The real problem is that I could not play the game at all. When I loaded the web version I just got a flickering screen :(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Oh! What browser and OS?

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I tried passing the guys at the top right until I gave up. Then I realized I can go for the sword. So I went there. Tried picking it. Pressed x and I was asked for a name. So I entered another account I own. And then I got "game over" reloaded and were stuck in an "game over"-loop.

So ratings may be better if I could see more of the game.

Maybe you could explain why this game needs twitter.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Fun idea, great use of theme! the game flashes a lot

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Same here, web version flickers :/

Chrome on osx

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Cbeed: Read description...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

@Cbeed: I agree that the in-game instructions could use work. This game is opaque, but with very little reward for those who appreciate/figure it out. I plan on extending it post-jam to make it more worth the effort. Thanks for playing!

Also, yeah: perma-death! So be careful with your hearts.

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Damn I love Zelda-like games. Too bad I don't have a twitter account.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The concept floors me. Love it. The game needs work, though. But you know that. =)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Interesting concept, but don't have twitter.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Hey, it's Ted Brown of Oreganik! We talked about Chess Heroes at SIX. Your words, they fill me with joy! I'm definitely going to spend some hours this/next month trying to add a compelling zelda-like to my high-concept zelda-like. ^o^//

In particular, I want the player to have to keep getting more and more hearts to progress... maybe as many as 20!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I may have broken it by giving my heart to myself. When it asked for my handle, I was all like "Hmm, maybe this is so that whoever gets my heart can know of my sacrifice." (In this scenario, I guess I thought that the heart would go to someone at random haha.
Nice use of the theme, though!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I like the idea, would be cool to see it developed beyond what you got here in the 48h with some pixelly zelda style art and more solid movement. Are the red guys swarming around other people? I got a pop-up asking if I wanted to give a heart, just before I died vibrating on the bottom of the screen. :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51am

Ha ha, don't give your heart to yourself! Careful with that thing, you only get one!

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I don't want to authenticate twitter to play a game. Sorry.

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Unfortunatly, the game is very buggy. (Chromium & ubuntu)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:00pm

@anttiviljami, as mentioned above, the game asks for read-only permission which is exactly the same as me reading your twitter account off your LD profile (which I just did).

Blooperly says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:21am

Read the artists statement, and I love the idea! Sadly it didn't really translate into the game. 5 on innovation and theme.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:45am

Great concept, high points on theme. Crashed several times while moving between screens (as you are aware).

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:06pm

The whole Twitter thing is a barrier to entry. Sorry.

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:26am

link for web doesn't work

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:44am

interesting idea but the game is a bit too glitchy for me. How do I give my heart?

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:45am

NVM, I guess a monster ate it

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Ack, forgot my twitter account's login. Sadly couldn't play it. Maybe it's possible to get my twitter-followers without authenticating?

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Interesting take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]