December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Airlock One

by McFunkypants - Jam Entry

Mars Orbital: AIRLOCK ONE

A puzzle game. Your mission: build a space station.

Rotate hull blocks to create an enclosed shape with a yellow line around all edges. Can you make a perfectly sealed ship with no open sides?

Use the mousewheel or keyboard to rotate blocks.

Click the floating pieces to choose another.

HOW TO WIN: rotate and place hexagon tiles to create a single unified (enclosed) yellow shape and it will say:

"Good work! You did it!
The airlock has a perfect seal.
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED."

For example, the fourth screenshot below shows a winning pattern, about to trigger the win condition once I click.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Innovation(Jam)3.73
#89Audio(Jam)3.49
#150Mood(Jam)3.28
#169Fun(Jam)3.15
#170Graphics(Jam)3.61
#177Overall(Jam)3.28
#344Humor(Jam)2.06
#495Theme(Jam)2.00
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

drewfitz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

A very nice start to an interesting concept. Just two criticisms: It doesn't really fit the theme and it doesn't really feel finished, mainly due to the (seeming) lack of a win or end condition.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Innovative game; I probably needed more instructions, but once I got the hang of it the airlock fitted into place. ;)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice graphics, nice concept.
When does it end?
One little thing, the black text under the score is almost invisible

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I also felt it needed an ending condition. Also, for some reason I was getting around 40x combos everytime I placed a piece, even if that didn't close anything.

But the graphics are cool and the idea is so interesting!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

A win condition of some sort would be nice.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Interesting idea, but there's not any way to win.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Amazing! Once I get I could rotate the pieces the gameplay just exploded ;) Nice music!

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

You *CAN* win, guys! Just create a simple shape like a circle with no overlaps or open walls.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Fantastic! Completing a space station really felt like an accomplishment. I really enjoyed my time with the game. I had to restart to get out menus, and I finished a station and the game didn't end, BUT it's a great concept done well.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

The audio in this is really great and what you have is really nicely polished which is refreshing to see! Neat game mechanics too, rated highly. :)

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Awesome concept! I managed to cheater style it to win by just using those tiny pieces to make a tiny station :)

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very polished controls, nice graphics. Pretty neat. :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Wow, I really liked this once I figured it out :) I like that you make it so you can link together modules, it's very well-planned. One of the first games I've played in the competition where I see how it could be developed into a full game -- that I would pay money for :)

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50am

Yay, I won on ~5th try :) Pretty interesting. If you want to do some post-jam improvements, a tutorial would be useful. I missed most of possibilities by not reading notes :D

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Nice game! :D Had fun once I got the hang of it. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Took me a moment to realize what to do, but plays pretty well, great concept! Is there any quick way to restart besides refreshing page?

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Shaping up really nicely (yey puns). Really like the visuals.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Took a while to figure it out, I really like it.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:05am

Really neat puzzle game. Took me a minute to figure out what I was doing, but when I figured out that I could switch out pieces it was almost too easy. I was almost able to make the Satellite of Love from Mystery Science Theater 3000. :D

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:55am

Great concept for a puzzle game! I didn't realized through minutes that I can even rotate!

Addictive! 5 for Fun!

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

Very cool!

madlee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:46am

Really cool idea. I would like to see more variety in the ship pieces, but other than that its great. Well done!

30dogs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:31am

Woahhh cool concept! Would be nice to see some more constraints or objectives to make it more interesting or challenging. The combo system seems a little buggy, but I had fun building this monstrosity: http://i.imgur.com/S3N2MCR.jpg

sekaru says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:49am

Very interesting concept with a good aesthetic to back it up, nice job.

joe40001 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:09am

Pretty much just what drewfitz said. Despite this though I really liked it, the polish of the design was great and I think you are not too far off something really awesome and fun here, maybe think about developing it further.

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:09am

Interesting! Took me a while to get the hang of it, but the given shapes were neat to work with. Felt nice and sci-fi.

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:23am

I like this puzzle.
but what about win or loose conditions?

daredevildave says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice game, I found I could often end up with a ship I couldn't complete, but it didn't fail or let me know. Or maybe I could continue, but I had hexes with open sides that I couldn't add to.

Anyway I think this could be turned into something really cool.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:01am

Very good puzzle mechanic, with combos and highscores. The station becomes unsealable due to wrong pieces, so I guess that's the endgame condition. The sound's good, and the graphics are great. Some pieces changed shape on rotation, though :|
Oh yes, the theme was really loose though.

ashen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nice puzzle game. Simple to play but with more strategy than I first expected.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Nice concept maybe a bit poor implementation.
I found some bug when you try to fit wrong pieces.

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:11pm

The future of Space Station Craft! Nice game dude!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:52pm

It felt polished and I really liked the sounds!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Really interesting concept, nicely done! Good presentation as well.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Please expand this and add a reset button and make it so I can play it all day long on my phone! Awesome idea and works really well too.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Nice puzzle, though it would have been nice to have some feeling of progress or at least a rising difficulty.

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:52pm

A mixed bag. A great idea I think, but it's not really finished I feel.
Great moody sounds.
It looks very polished and plays pretty smooth mostly, but clicking another part is then again not so easy.
I have the feeling that it needs a bit more work.
In the end I ended up playing rising lava of doom :)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I like the creation aspect. I didn't get how it relates to the theme though.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Really enjoyed playing this. Good job funky dude! :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

There's no condition to the end XD

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice concept. The mood really added to the game. When you lock yourself out of winning conditions the game isn't playable anymore :(

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:38pm

It's innovative, overall a great new concept well executed, but I don't see the theme in here. A good game on its own, after all.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Really nice game, love the graphics! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/ph4Rui-mL0k

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I didn't really feel the theme :/ however the concept was very good. It was a little confusing at first, but I managed to get it with a little thinking. I feel that it lacks a little bit of polish, mainly on the menus and the win condition; dunno, it kinda feels incomplete.

Maybe you could make some levels where there's a minimum area that you have to cover and it scales with difficulty? That way the game doesn't feel like it ends too soon :)

Would like t see a post-compo version!

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Interesting idea and a fun to play game. I think I had luck and successfully made an airtight space station at the first attempt. Maybe the game would better work, if the player isn't able to choose a part, but has to place the given part before receiving the next one (like in tetris).

Xanjos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Took time to get used to but nice take on a tetrominoes based game (Pretty sure that's the name for it but I don't know) although I think there's too much freedom in being able to swap out pieces and it could do with some objectives like building a station of a certain size etc. Other than that, the game was pretty fun to play and the graphics and audio do give that in-space kind of mood.

Snuti says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Once I got the hang of the game, was really enjoyable and fun! Nice work :)

Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:30am

Lovely!!! It would be so cool to have a pipemania-type deadline. People running through the ship, like in FTL, or comets raining down on it. A few missions would make all the difference in the world! Rating this very high <3

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]