December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rations, Please!

by CosmicAdventureSquad - Jam Entry

Your job is to pass out rations in a war-torn country, with hardly enough to go around. You tell the survivors "you only get one", but some will bribe their way for more.

Who do you decide to feed? Do you want the soldiers to stay alive to protect the commonfolk? Do you save the women and children, the aged, the unemployed? Will you take bribes, or succumb to violence?

Their fates are in your hands.

------------------------------------------
Post-Jam Version:
- Intro screen to explain the setting and goal of the game
- Different clothes for adults based on their jobs
- A new personality type
- More tuning for death rates
- Other bug fixes

------------------------------------------

Controls: click the ration to give a ration, the X card to deny a ration, or the gun to kill.

------------------------------------------

Credits:

Art - Rose
Programming - Vu
Music - Johan
Special Thanks - Lily, Andrew

We'll be adding more in the post-jam version (SFX, improvements to the gameplay flow and balance), so keep an eye out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.40
#35Overall(Jam)3.85
#43Mood(Jam)3.77
#44Graphics(Jam)4.30
#131Innovation(Jam)3.27
#216Fun(Jam)3.00
#232Audio(Jam)3.00
#430Humor(Jam)1.67
#998Coolness48%

Comments

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

This had me biting my nails! Ooh the moral dilemmas! Good job y'all.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28am

Love it :) Would have loves to see some more situations arise besides people offering me more money. I ended up just killing anyone who was old, unemployed, or a student. Call me cold :P

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Doesn't scale well on a laptop monitor (1366x768) but other than that great game and amazing art. Inspired by Papers, Please? ;)

Halfire120 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Overall, one of the best entries I've seen! Great feel, great fun, loved the moral dilemma aspect of it! You can feel it was inspired by Papers Please, honestly amazing stuff :D

Irelynn Skye says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Oh wow, this is great. It really gets you thinking as well, which is always good, I think. Good job!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:48am

Really fun entry! It seemed to let me give away rations even when I had run out though.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice colour palette and artwork

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Great mood, very dark. Is it possible to win? Graphics nice too. I did have a name repeat once or twice in the same line, I thought it was people trying to trick me into giving them two but

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19pm

..they were different ages, I was trying to say.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Very cool, like the theme, so depressing though, ended up shooting everyone after I had no fresh rations three days in a row. :p

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:58pm

So much feels! Simply phenomenal work here, congrats!

Masadow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Good job ! A lot of inspiration from papers, please !

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:55am

I had just finished day 22, had 2 people alive and 2 rations. Then my computer restarted itself. I don't have the patience to try to get that far again (it was my 2nd attempt, my first got me to 16 days), but I did very much enjoy the game. Wish I knew how far I could have made it though.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:59am

Also, (not sure if this was by design or not) it seemed like there really was no ending. On my first run, it said "Day 16" on the screen and just never went anywhere past that and the music just kept looping. Having the music fade out or having some sort of text appear to indicate that that is indeed the end would be nice.

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:49am

This was a tough game... This may not be the best way to describe, but I can't find a better word...

It's a great game to get us thinking!

Something I felt was missing is the ability to price another ration. Sometimes, this would be a good option, if what you earned were great enough to buy another one or two (and the other party could always refuse if they weren't able to pay it).

somepx says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Excellent job, almost a complete game - solid, brilliant. Compliments!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

The game freeze at "black screen with day", at day 23, and one people left...
But overall nice game! ;)
Something like "Papers Please" game, but free ^^
I like mood, graphics, sound and gameplay. Really great job! ;)
You should be proud, that You made it! ;-)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:32am

Great interpretation of the theme. The graphics are awesome and the gameplay is intriguing, I love it ! I made it to day 24 but ran out of rations ;) Great work !

Diptoman says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:41am

This is one of the best games I've seen this LD. You guys must have been really, really inspired by Papers Please (even the art style too!).
Nevertheless, this is a complete experience, and I'm stunned how you guys pulled it off in 72 hours!

rezil says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:37am

Awesome, I really enjoyed the overall mood of the game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]