December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Below Zero

by Kinzata - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Below Zero puts you in the suit of an ejected pilot in the middle of an asteroid field. You have only one goal, don't get hit. How long will you survive in the cold, harsh space?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Mood3.71
#277Graphics3.37
#378Innovation3.07
#446Fun2.93
#465Overall3.04
#689Theme2.54
#998Coolness48%

Comments

haveric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

That moment when an asteroid almost hits you is scarier than when it actually does. Pretty fun though.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51am

I love that the screen is getting more and more foggy the longer you float through space!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Awesome, this game is so similar to mine! Low poly graphics, spin out of control when you hit asteroids, love it! And scary too....

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I found it hard to tell if my controls were having any effect. Love the feel of it though.

Pitzik4 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

It's simple, but fun. It could have used sound, though, even though there is no sound in space.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Quite interesting, as a matter of fact. There's the amazement of seeing the asteroids, the shock of having one pass right by you... all in all, a great game. Had a hard time connecting it with the theme, though.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

Wow, so beautiful ! The only sad thing is that you can't aim where you want to be thrown in space. However, it is very good and surprisingly exciting !

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

I like the mood in this game. Very dreary and scary. Exactly what it would be like to be out in an asteroid field alone...

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30am

This game is really cool. I like the tutorial option at the beginning. The controls didn't feel very intuitive however. Maybe I was just missing something. This was a pretty cool experience though.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

Great mood in this game. Pretty scary overall but a lot of fun. I made it 83 seconds and dodged an asteroid only to have another one too close and died.

A lot of fun.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Brilliant entry! Was kinda hoping to reach the light at the end. Difficulty is one issue I noticed though, as it seems to remain at the same level throughout my plays.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Cool, simple concept with nice atmosphere!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:05am

Seems to be inspired by the last Star Trek movie :D

Really a fun game. i would have preffered the Up/Down keys swapped.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:54am

Dodging asteroids in darkness? Brilliant! Really loved the feel to it. Could've used some music, and the controls felt unresponsive due to the low acceleration. But I enjoyed it very much!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:26am

Cool game! Really love the atmosphere! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I don't no why, but it's a very scary game. The missing audio is enhancing this feeling even more.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]