December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Acorn Hunter 5000

by dcolgan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a cute little squirrel living in the forest. Suddenly, a hunter approaches with his two hunting dogs! To make matters worse, he is attempting to trap you by setting off forest fires!

Gather up all of your precious acorns before the fire burns up everything near and dear to your heart or you are hunted down!


WASD or arrows to move, spacebar to activate your the powerup, giving extreme speed and invincibility. Note that YOU ONLY GET ONE powerup per level!

Featuring faces on everything and next gen eye acorn eye following behaviors.

Made by David Colgan in 48 hours.

Downloads and Links




Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07am

I love the interesting wist on packman, and the sad forest was hilarious, but poor use of the theme.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

Wow really great job! The theme wasn't that big and it's not very innovating, but it's cute and fun!

Cosrnos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

"I totally used the theme" that you did :P

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39am

I liked the music, got a bit repetitive after a while though

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39am

Fun. Loved the faces on the acorns. Freakin' adorable too. Music is stuck in my head though, you monster.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

It's a cute and fun game, but I'm traumatized by the burning acorns with faces haha. Good job!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

Cool, simple pac-man like game. I especially love the music, it's some of the best music I heard in an LD game done solo. The only gripe I have is that once the level is full of fire it gets very difficult get the last few acorns and I usually get pinned in with the dogcs in the few remaining spaces.

Reevezy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

I love everything about this game, especially the acorns!

Phil River says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Hahaha, great job DV!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Interesting... xD

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Good work. I really like the graphics and audio on this and the gameplay is entertaining. I would definitely play this game over and over again just for the sound effects. Only complaint is that things aren't as sad as I wanted it to be...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

I feel sad and twisted for eating those acorns. :(

Deity says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

Nice work. The animations and sound effects were hilarious.

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

This was really fun to play, reminded me of pacman :)

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Simple but good fun.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:48pm

A nice little pacman clone. <3 Acorns with rolling eyes! :D

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Cute graphics!

Harsay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Love the graphics (that facial expressions) and music. Reminds me of pacman. Poor use of theme but it's a nice game!

oxysoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

hardest game of this ludum dare by far

EncryptedCow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Ahhhh the old "Oh crap, my dog is chasing a squirrel!" trick... I almost fell for it.

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I like the graphics, but I'm still confused about the chips scattered on the ground. Also, the game seemed like the theme was added last minute, and it kind of was (Kappa)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09am

Overall great art. The dogs are so friendly looking, but they are traps! Nice game over screen too! HAHA!

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

I really liked it and enjoyed playing it as I love pacman. It was also quite fun watching you make it on stream all weekend while I worked on mine. I'm super jealous of your artistic skills. My only complaint is I really wish you focused more on making a game to fit the theme!

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20am

I loved playing the game, and furthermore, watching the creation of it... I must have missed when you added the music, but I am glad, it was a wonderful surprise! Overall, one of the better games I have seen so far!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58am

Nice game overall, has all of the bits and pieces, only wish it'd ramp up the difficulty over time.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11am

Nice work DV

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:51am

First thing I was struck by was the audio. Top notch stuff! I'm interested in how you created the (non vocal) sfx and what you used for the music which was also exceptionally good! The gameplay is very smooth and responsive. Quite well polished, but in the end there's unfortunately not really that much to it. I quite like the random fire mechanic. Felt very organic though it does have a tendency to either peter out swiftly or rage unchecked. The graphics are all cohesive and well done. There's hardly even a mention of the theme though. Also, hurry up and rate my game Colgan. You know you can beat it! ;D

drnick says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:18am

Sounds didn't play here, the walking animation for up/down is weird and implementation of the theme was very poor. However it's an interesting acomplishment for an 48h game.

ryann says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:30am

It was great watching your stream the whole weekend. You've got me interested in making a game with javascript. Acorn Hunter could use a few more levels and types of enemies to deal with. The music is seriously stuck in my head.

loxo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Overall nice game. The everything with faces and next gen eye acorn following behavior are great features and improve the mood a lot. But why are the acorns happy to see the squirrel? I think the fire spreads a bit too sudden, some warning would be great. And I would like to see that the fire affects the trees as well. Maybe the squirrel could have the ability to extinguish fire and save the trees and the acorns.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Really simple, cool game. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)

atombrot says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:35pm

haha this game is so cool. I like the graphics, well done :)

Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Haha, so funny! Love the graphics! ^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]