December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOLO, Obviously

by carlsommer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is essentially a text-based "adventure" where you walk through different stages of life (beginning in college) and follow your thoughts along the way. The aim is to encourage the player to begin thinking or re-thinking various attitudes and ideas they may have taken or had throughout their life regarding various subject matter, including religious subject matter.

I apologize that many of the thoughts cannot be fully represented (and may seem misrepresented) within the scope of a Ludum Dare. This is not an attack on any beliefs but minimal expression of my own.

Conversations would be welcomed, but the comments section would not be an ideal setting for actual conversation. Feel free to email me if you wish. (carl.sommer@yahoo.com)

Developed entirely in Illustrator CS3 and Construct 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#564Theme2.75
#598Innovation2.76
#861Mood2.13
#948Fun2.00
#953Overall2.28
#956Graphics1.81
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Very Christian indeed! :) I like moral games though.

What is Yolo?

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I feel like what you've tried to make here is interesting, a life-choices CYOA can be quite a good type of game.
On the other hand I feel like the game advances awfully fast, and the implied morality that was thrust upon me when I chose a non-religious path seemed a bit over the top.

Admittedly it made me giggle, because it just seemed so incredibly out of nowhere. I mean, Suddenly Jesus and quite a few very heteronormative choices along the way. The initial paths also didn't match up with anything I would've actually done as a person.
It's functional though, nothing broke, and completing the game took me back to the beginning as it should've.

Good job on getting the content in during the dare.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I do not agree with the views expressed in this game.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14am

An innovative idea. I'm not sure if I missed some of your points or something (I am very tired at the moment) but this smelled a look like Christianity to me, at least at the end. I like the title :P

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16am

I was going to be disappointed in your reductionist views of utilitarianism, but then I realized you were actually talking about utAlitarians. And I think we can all agree, those guys suck.

That said, the dialog was pretty funny, and you DO say up front that it represents your views, so I can't really fault you there.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01am

I have to say, the way this game was leaning made me troll it as hard as I could.

khahem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:06am

I tried to party as long as I can and ended up married, not really the kind of party I expected.

I found the game a bit weird but it's an original and interesting take on the theme.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Aleluia!
Good idea.. Or God idea lol

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:33pm

"I tried to party as long as I can and ended up married, not really the kind of party I expected."

THIS!!1

Quite unique "game", I'm not sure I can call it fun, but it's interesting for sure.

Just wanted to mention that you have to provide source in one way or another to comply with the compo rules.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:20am

Hitler...he was definitely bad.

kevinmylo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:43pm

It made me think...

LTPATS says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:49am

Cool, although I don't understand why death always results in bible quotes, it would've made more sense to have different endings depending on your character's world views that they developed throughout the experience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]