December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO YOLO ARENA

by acronaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

alpha2 [build2 notes:]
------------------------------------------------------
hit 'space' to start..
collect orange boxes while avoiding clones and bots..
1 minute on the clock..
unlimited multi-jumps..
hold shift and any direction to run..


[build1 notes:]
------------------------------------------------------
Arena Casual Arcade style with round based perks/skills enabled 1 at a time (not implemented yet, on next build!)

Future builds will have upgrades and further fixes, and a working AI..

Still a WIP, alpha.. (the levels will be procedurally generated). <- in the future build.. ("don't have time for that")

Warning: It's still a rough alpha, check back after jam deadline for update.. (right now you can freely explore the arena without restraints.. a nice opportunity to benchmark your machine: feel free to post your # of clones running smoothly in the arena..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#204Graphics3.57
#634Mood2.57
#707Humor1.79
#739Audio1.65
#808Innovation2.39
#879Theme2.11
#909Fun2.14
#938Overall2.34

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Wish I could it, but can only run linux and 32 bit windows executables.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

To start off, it is difficult to download as you're using Google Drive. I'd recommend Dropbox sharing if possible!

Anyway, with that out of the way...
Oh my goodness those graphics are amazing! As a massive fan of low poly I love it, mainly awesome colours :)
A bit of a non-game at the moment, but I do understand WIP.
Looking forward to what you do with it!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I'm a bit confused :3. I open it up and I can make this little orange guy walk around and there is a message that says "get ready" or something like that. But I'm not sure what to do? The screenshots look amazing and I'd really love to play! But I'm not sure where to go, haha.

midgard says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Could not get the game to play! I mean I get in, but there's a text saying get ready and nothing happens, you can still move around and explore the beautiful scene!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Love those graphics! Nice work for only 48 hours!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I'm not sure what I just witnessed. The character walk cycle was humorous

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:10am

I like the graphics and the orange guy! But I've got to say google drive is not the best for uploads. Try dropbox for example. I hope you improve this a lot further. I see this going places!

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Hello! the updated build is up!: alpha2
some sad news: I didn't have enough time to make upgrades..
however (and pending on how flexible this site may offer) I'll make an update sometime this week.. (hopefully an update comment..)

@DST: Sorry for no linux build, on the flip-side there once you get a hold of the source and run on blender3d 2.6x+ then you should be able to play.. I'm running on win64 instead of win32.. the source should be able to let you run the engine directly in its game engine.
@phi6 @Eric: I totally hear you guys.. apparently it seems to be a flexible option to at least host the files. (at least there's no count-down or timed limit of hosting); on next Ludum dare event I'll try out dropbox nexttime..

@zconnelly13: check the readme.txt file.. apparently it's a collect 10 "bit-tokens" (orange boxes) to achieve the 1 bitpoint goal. Hence the theme.. You got only one (point)

@DAnman9914: you should check out how it runs :) lol!

Much thanks for the comments and for the effort to check out this messy build.. hopefully I'll deliver further refined build.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

Very lovely graphics. Hard to get started ( the game I mean, try hosting on dropbox) but other than that its great. Good job embracing the low poly count and making it your own

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22am

I'm interested to see how this turns out after you're able to put more into it! I was totally confused playing it but it seems like you were able to get a lot done in such a short amount of time.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49am

Couldn't get it to start :/ just says "get ready" forever

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02am

Really cool aesthetic. Would have been nice to have some sound, though.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

@biscuitdough, (play the alpha2 build: [YOGOYOLOARENA_alpha2-win.zip]).. then once it runs it'll say hit 'spacebar' to start! after the 10 sec. countdown The game begins..

@BluShine, I hear ya.. as a post-ludum dare build I'll add sound/music track to it (it's pretty lifeless without it); and an upgrade system. I was planning to reserve a chunk of time to add/sounds and music, instead I had dived in implementing a 'procedural' (summon random level elements) and a broken AI path-finding bots and clones to make the scene more lively and competitive..

DBRalir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Looks like it has some potential; I'll be looking forward to any updates.

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Very nice aesthetic. I found it awkward that your character always faces to the right. Pretty buggy, but the AI is very effective at chasing you down. I never got more than 2 orange cubes to spawn. I'd get the second one, and then no more cubes until eventually time runs out. Looks great though, and I had fun running and flying around the cool scene. (I played alpha2)

nka says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02am

Pretty fun, but hard to play. I also loved graphic.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55am

Absolutely amazing graphics O.O

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:28am

I really love this. Everything about it is so weird. I'd say I would like it better with some sound, or if the camera was less confusing or the jumping didn't break the challenge so much, but honestly all of those things help it to be really weird in a great way.

The world of it is absolutely beautiful, really gorgeous. Great work.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Absolutely awesome abstract graphic style. Bit hard to figure out how it works,but it's worthwhile :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:15am

trippy...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]