December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

There's Only One St. Nick

by Static 64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's only one St. Nick, and he has to deal with the entire workshop at the North Pole. Help him manage his elves, gather wood for toys, workout to improve his abilities, and deliver gift in his flying sleigh!

Enjoy managing Santa's shop, and make sure no child ever get only one toy again!

Post your score and how many gifts you delivered in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Humor3.05
#214Fun3.32
#282Overall3.28
#499Innovation2.92
#502Mood2.75
#511Theme2.83
#782Graphics2.32
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15pm

At first I thought that it is to easy to supply the elves with wood but that changed drastically once I had enough elves! Funny!

Static 64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I think there is a glitch I must fix - the game doesn't appear to end properly. I think I can fix that, if the competition rules allow.

Static 64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

The aforementioned glitch should be fixed now.

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57am

Funny and challenging, I like it!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:07am

Simple and fun. 49216 it was my score :D

stenol says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Funny little game. Gratz !

LTPATS says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49pm

This was fun, I liked the time management aspects of it. Funny take on the theme as well, love the title! I enjoyed it all the way through, didn't feel too repetitive or boring to me, awesome job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Took me a little while to work out how to play. But was fun enough once I got there.

mruno says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Good fun game with quite a lot of content

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:01pm

It's an okay game, but the fact that it was made in GameMaker makes me not like it. It's a cool concept but the AI's are too simple. The movment is way too rigid.

Fritzendugan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:10pm

efficiency made up the overwhelming majority of my score, not sure if that's intentional. Also, elves would only pick up if I clicked on their square, and not if I was simply passing over them (again not sure if intentional).

Other than that, pretty damn fun rts/resource-management game. I loved how the mechanics interacted, the punching bag, the elves, the tree, the "elf spawner." Once I got my system down it felt very satisfy to take advantage of that efficiency. Unfortunately, once I did manage to get that system down there wasn't a whole lot of replayability offered. That might be asking a little much from a 48 hour game, I know, but just thought I'd mention it.

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26pm

JellyMan64, do you not like it just because it's GameMaker (you'd like the exact same game better in another code language) or is it that GameMaker caused poor quality that would be avoidable otherwise?

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:02am

Fun game. I didn't notice that I had to pick up new elves on the right at first.
My score was 32199. :)

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:58pm

First Time : 2583S4
Secont Time : 64501

Really interesting :D

occash says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I think that I don't understand, how to collect the gifts(but the idea is nice)

jprogman says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very nice work on the fun game! I like how I can shake the punching bag and the tree. :)

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:03am

I think by the end I understood what was going on. There are some nice RTS elements in there, managing upgrading / improving efficiency vs. harvesting wood, carrying gifts, but it wasn't clear how to do it at first. The punching bag was funny!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]