December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Travesty

by Core43 - Jam Entry

This game is not complete, but you're welcome to try out what we have. It's a first person game that was supposed to have branching paths and be really cool, but we ran out of time over the weekend.

Things:
- it uses XNA Game Studio 4.0 Refresh (http://bit.ly/1kVVaLX) and .NET4.0 (http://bit.ly/1gGliNl)
- Xbox controller support might be broken*
- sword doesn't turn with the character*
- sword doesn't actually hurt anything for some reason*
- textures are blurry*
- instructions don't work*
- doors are missing*
- the guy you're supposed to find isn't actually in the game*
- no enemies*
- game lets you play more than once when it isn't supposed to*
- missions boards are missing
- "bad" path is missing
- robots by August act like they're in space
- not inspired by Minecraft

(*Asterisk indicates that this is fixed in the post-LD28 release version. The regular Windows version is the version that was completed when the deadline ended, so any problems there will persist, but we're continuing to work on the game.)

You're welcome to download the source from the GitHub link provided, but if you use any of it, it would be nice to credit the programmer (Alex Van Liew) or the artist (Jonathan Fischer) for it. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#59Audio(Jam)3.67
#206Graphics(Jam)3.43
#338Humor(Jam)2.08
#424Mood(Jam)2.41
#434Innovation(Jam)2.36
#505Overall(Jam)2.34
#527Fun(Jam)1.79
#532Theme(Jam)1.78

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

Sorry man, I downloaded all the things but the application would not run. I tried re-downloading, but no luck. The description looked good though.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

The game ran for me, but it was messed up. I was playing in some black void with a couple of flat sprites.

Pol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48am

Same bug as WojWorks for me. It's a shame because I really like the look of the screencaps, wish I could play :<

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:13am

I liked your menu and your music...but maingame had same problems as WojWorks and Pol reported. Sorry. I'm giving you a 5/5 for audio and leaving the rest of the ratings blank until I see the game actually work.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26am

Black screen and no instructions..
Great music and main menu though!

Core43 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:45am

I apologize to everyone; things just got a little mixed up towards the end. Everything should be running correctly now if you want to give it a shot. Thanks!

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12pm

The music is coll and you can make a greate game of this

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Sad that it's not complete it could be very nice, I like the minecraft visual.

DST says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice visual style, I got this up and running in my virtual machine :)
Extra points for not using unity. ;)

snoozbuster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38am

Hey guys, it's me the programmer. I just thought I'd note that although it did end up looking Minecraft-ish, that wasn't intentional. :p I was going for a more Pokemon3D feel, which is part of the reason I used billboards for most of the things you interact with. We actually had a tough time making things that didn't look like a cheap imitation of Minecraft! But I'm glad you all enjoy it. I'm hoping to fix some glaring bugs shortly, most notably the behavior of the sword.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:19pm

It also doesn't work for me :(

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:38pm

awesome soundtrack!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Looks pretty but can't play, mac

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Get an error when i try to play, but i love the soundtrack :)

TheCze says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Yay I managed to find the evidence and august. I was not able to choose anything in the end of the game though, not exactly sure why, maybe I was to slow?

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:00pm

It was fun, but for some reason in the post-compo version the sword still didn't hurt anything :(

Core43 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:02pm

@TheWhiteLlama, TeamFlare: Could you let us know what error you're getting? It's easier to fix when we know what it is. :)
@TheCze: There's only one ending implemented into the updated game at the moment, so that's the only one you can get; we're still working on it when we can. Check back for updates soon!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Kinda have to rate the LD version here, sounds like you fixed a lot of things that weren't "typos" after the deadline. So... nice music and you managed to make a decent-sized town, but there doesn't seem to be really anything to do in that version. :)

snoozbuster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:35pm

@Toby The sword isn't very powerful, so it can take sometimes up to five hits to kill something. But a sound does play when you damage something.
@JaymeeMak: You should be able to run it in a Windows VM if you install .NET4.0 and XNA4.0 Refresh. DST said he was able to get it running in a VM, so it is possible.
@HellBlazer: No, in the LD version there isn't much to do. I spent way longer than I anticipated (a solid five to seven hours, I think) trying to make the camera and character controller work, and I hit some other snags too, so I ended up running out of time to finish anything else. But I still wanted to finish the game the way I envisioned so I kept fixing it.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:43pm

The game worked for me, and I like its exploration-minecraft-like style experience ! Not so innovative but immersive, I want to have more gameplay in this world !

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Very interesting it was fun but was missing something that made it that perfect amount of fun, Like animations my goal was to kill everyone was I wasn't sure what to do.

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:27am

Looks intriguing. Pity I don't have Windows.

snoozbuster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:35am

@LukuluK: Thanks! That's what we were going for!
@ParaPup: You're supposed to kind of explore to find out stuff, talk to people, that sort of thing. But a part of that isn't finished yet.
@Several: You can get it running in a VM. :)

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice potential but feels a bit unfinished. Really great effort anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]