December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gauntlet

by xyrix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please read the controls page before playing!
Controls:
Up - accelerate
Left/Right - turn counter/clockwise
S - break
A/D - strafe left/right
Space - fire


The game seems to require good performance from the browser. The game is unplayable if the performance is no good. Hence, it would be best if you try it in a couple of different browsers before giving up on it :-). I also found I had to close other browser windows when working on it (but, my PC is ancient).

WARNING: the sound effects are LOUD. Turn your master volume down. Sorry I didn't realise when I was making it :-/.

I hope you enjoy it - and all had a great Ludum Dare :-D!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

xyrix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33am

I can't see the link here... So for anyone as inept as I apparently am, you can play this game at xyrix.org/ld28 :-).

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23am

They are so fast, but that is their downfall! They kept sliding off the map and giving me free kills.
Game was pretty fun, good work!
I liked the beep at the start of the game... Made me think of it as a blooper reel for a movie, where the main actor screws up heaps... Coz I kept dying...

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The game was too fast. I tried several times but could not help the ship from crashing.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I think the control need adjustment, it's so easy getting killed by moving in a direction and hit the wall ><
The mechanic, while not original, is fun though!

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

cool idea! I like the challenge a bunch, felt a little fast, but after playing a bit, it worked quite well. nice job!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14am

Controls on the ship are waaaaaay off. You need to add some damping (every frame: velocity = velocity*damping, and then damping is some number like 0.95) so that the ship's velocity goes down faster over time. The way it is now makes this kinda unplayable. Other than that good job!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15am

Having a brake button would be nice for controlling this slippery slidey ship.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I just found out that you can press S to brake. Everything is easier now.

@xyrix You should add the key instruction on your entry description.

xyrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Well, I can't change the description now, but I have added a note to read the controls page to the intro page.

xyrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Okay, nevermind, turns out I can.

TheCams says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Ahah, I just had fun wandering in the levels, using the throttle to brake like in theses old games like more recently Gravity Crash. Didn't met any ennemies though.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:39am

It's frickin hard. I hate the die sfx :v
Nice game anyway :)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Sh.. so fun and addicting!! :D

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Ship is so hard to control ! It's a shame coz game has a lot of potential :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]