December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Planet

by dinos - Jam Entry

This is our second Ludum Dare Jam! This time it's a game about aliens invading Earth because their planet self destructed (silly aliens)!

You have to protect the Earth by firing lazer bullets at the aliens and meteorites that come from the explosion of the alien planet.

Unfortunately, we ran into a few problems* so we didn't have time to add aliens, so there are only meteorites for now... :)

Enjoy!

Made by Constantinos Pappas and Leonidas Tsekouras


*a few problems: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/16/you-only-get-one-planet-progress-update-2/

Edit (2013-12-17):
- We fixed the Starling extension issue: http://forum.starling-framework.org/topic/extension-fullscreenextension-problem-on-flash-player
- Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/17/you-only-get-one-planet-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55am

It doesn't seem to be loading for me. I'm not sure if it's a problem with my computer or the game, but I'm running the latest version of chrome with flash enabled.

dinos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34pm

There is a problem with a Starling extension we use (the game only ran on one of our machines in IE with Flash Player v11.9.900.152 with ActiveX). We're waiting for a response from the developers of the extension. We updated the description of our entry with more information about the problem.

dinos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm

We fixed the Starling extension issue: http://forum.starling-framework.org/topic/extension-fullscreenextension-problem-on-flash-player It should now work on all your browsers :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I can't seem to aim very accurately. It's only shooting towards my mouse cursor at north/south, while skewing further away as I approach east/west. Might want to check your trig math.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

The game has good core mechanics there, shoot approaching things, but needs little something more to stay interesting, I didn't really feel the game getting any harder, or maybe the increase is very slight. Funny thing that there was not a single alien beyond the intro.

dinos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:19pm

@AdventureIslands Haha, we ran out of time so we didn't add aliens :P

We're probably going to upload a post-jam version with UFOs, difficulty levels and some bug fixes in a few days.

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:49am

Simple but good. Absolutely loved the comic strip at the start!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:41am

Screen was a little big for my laptop monitor, but it was still playable.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Nice work!
Not so innovative idea, but still a really good game!
Funny strip at the start! :D

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Put the aliens in :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]