December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Awareness

by kakhoofd - Jam Entry

Game was made in attempt to tell a serious story around the topic "You only get one". The serious topic being Abusive Relationships.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Mood(Jam)3.13
#257Theme(Jam)2.78
#299Graphics(Jam)3.11
#319Audio(Jam)2.69
#410Innovation(Jam)2.44
#459Overall(Jam)2.56
#547Fun(Jam)1.47
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Great project, holds a really powerful message. Really great idea and implementation.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Really interesting take on the theme and nice storytelling, awesome work. :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Not a bad story it was intresting.

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05am

Not really a game but what can we say ...

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09am

Congratulations of tackling a mature topic. The music and art was nice.

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Interesting concept. Nicely done, although I would say maybe a touch heavy-handed with the message. That said, with such a short development time and story, getting more subtlety into it would be difficult!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57am

Good story, but no its a game, you cant do nothing, only read. Good job anyway.

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:58am

Glad to see people handling mature topics, would have like to have more interactive bits though!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:04am

Very good work!

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:51am

There is interactivity, as the player, you can take action at any moment (but i wont spoil how) ;) But I agree, its quite shallow. Most my time went into coming up with the story and Game idea. Execution was done in ~16 hours.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:58am

Very well done. I really liked the artwork and music here. But what really stood out was the message and cause. Good work!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice "game" I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mm02WUCsrPg

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]