December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Babelita

by Kuupu - Jam Entry

Babelita is in love with a pretty bright star, help her to climb up to the sky and grab her beloved shining star.

Use "A" and "D" to move around and press "Space" to jump.

Each time you reach the top of the tower you unlock a new power-up, but remember, you can only use one power-up.

The mac and linux builds have not been tested yet. Please, if you try it, write the result in the comments.

Music by Kevin MacLeod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Graphics(Jam)4.47
#32Overall(Jam)3.88
#43Fun(Jam)3.68
#45Audio(Jam)3.76
#45Mood(Jam)3.76
#109Innovation(Jam)3.33
#179Humor(Jam)2.71
#274Theme(Jam)2.74
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

So cute and fun. And technically it's quite impressive.
Checkpoints would be nice!

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05am

Really like the graphical style and the 'rotating' level design. The controls have a good feel and give just the right amount of control. Some sections were quite tough so as vapgames said checkpoints would be good. But then it certainly builds tension knowing you're going back to the start if you die. Oh and that is one of the best/catchiest tunes I've heard this comp. Well done!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:43pm

love the character design, that level is huge! mann.. I want to get to the top but that tower is huge. starting again from the beginning every time is just too much. That's not a bad thing! Maybe I'll come back to it later. Really fun anyway. I like how forgiving the jumping was.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30pm

So cute. I Like the art, music and gameplay, nice work. Congrats!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Extremely well done graphically first of all! The game as a whole is very responsive and it was actually really hard, only thing is said by vapgames about checkpoints.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Web link is broken at the moment.

digonalmeida says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Shaun Lebron, the game link were off for a moment. The web build had some bugs. The web build is back. Save and unlocking items systems are working now.

Thanks for the comments and tips. =]

BTW, I am a Kuupu's team member who forgot the password :/.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n7-I-qQvAdA
Great game! Those are my first impressions ^^

FrederickK says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31am

Very challenging, fun and beatiful!
I would ask for a standalone version, here sometimes Unity says that I don't have X graphic installed for web and sometimes don't. o.0
I loved that there isn't a hud, the hud is in the background and the transition effect!
You guys really did an awesome job! Kudos!

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

I like the rotating element of it, it reminds me a lot of Fez. Somehow I got through the game but it was very challenging! Also, strangely enough I found that the firepits were more intimidating than the spikes.

My time was 3:16 with no special abilities.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Awesome graphics and great/hard platforming! The rotating effect is really good!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:26am

great job on the rotating world and the graphics. really well done game. i think my favorite part is the UI elements actually in the world space, with clocks and stuff. i can see like the underwater having a clock counting down your remaining air and such, great idea to elaborate on

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:10am

It's beautiful, i like the Fez idea. Very polish game you have, congrats.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:24am

Wow, this game is BEAUTIFUL! You guys did an impressive work, Babelita is incredibly polished for a 72-hour game. The controls are responsive, the level design is excellent, everything is beautiful and well-thought. It is very, VERY hard, and a few checkpoints would be nice. But I guess it is part of its arcadey-mega-maney feel. Didn't manage to beat it yet, but I'll sure try again after a good night of sleep xD Oh yeah, the tune is VERY catchy and cute. Congratulations, Kuupu!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Brazilian FEZ. Congrat man! It is really impressive!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Beautiful, original, with precise controls and the right amount of difficulty. One of my favourites.

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Beautiful graphics and tight controls. Shame the difficulty is so punishing; it significantly detracts from the fun.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Absolutey incredible! The care, love and attention that oozes from Babelita just blew me away. I love the artwork and teh animations are so juicy. Great variety of platforming tropes without anything becoming repetitive or outstaying its welcome. The fez-like transitions between levels lent a really cohesive feel and the controls were bang on. You even have the easter egg of high scores, and I'm proud to say that JAM's 3:08 was at the top :) The clocks etc embedded in the tiles were another example of the care and thought here - recommend without hesitation

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice game, reminded me of Fez. I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mm02WUCsrPg

ShadoX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Really well made :)

I'd like to point out that there seems to be a little bug/glitch where if you constantly walk left/right on the corner of the map (where it switches between sides of the tower) you eventually glitch out that mechanism and the whole map gets screwed up (doesn't seem to happen on all sides or at least not always)

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:19am

Awesome platforming!
But the controls kills it for me... Why can't I set moving to the arrow keys? Unity should handle this without any hassle. (And I did try to change it on the options window)

Though that's my only complaint. The music was fitting, the game felt really polished, with great and cute graphics!
Great work! :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Really nice controls, great graphics and audio. Solid entry, although +1 for checkpoints

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]