December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Clicky Blocks

by dstozek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** HEADS UP: CLICK THE BLOCKS TO LEVEL THEM UP - THEN YOU GET MORE BLOCKS! **
You can also invite your friends to the game - then you get a new block for every block they place!
NOTE: The server should be fixed now. Click on!


To build anything, you have to work for it!

This is a multi-player building game in a single, persistent world.

You get only one block - but you can work for more! Click your blocks and invite other builders to get more blocks for yourself.

Go build something amazing!




Made in JS/JQuery with HTML5 Canvas. The server is written in Node.JS.


Note from the author: I'm still due to do a proper description and proper screenshots. In the meantime, enjoy the game with other LD-folk!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Innovation3.94
#208Theme3.43
#386Graphics3.13
#465Overall3.04
#673Mood2.52
#749Fun2.49
#762Humor1.55
#800Audio1.22
#1545Coolness24%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

I really like your style! :D Unfortunately I couldn't run the game... the link seems broken! :(

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

The screenshot got me interested, but this is to confirm that the url doesn't work.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I admire anyone who, given 48 hours, decides to make an online multiplayer game. It's cool to build things with other people online, but the one block restriction (while obviously needed) is a bit of a bummer.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

It wasn't fun because I only had one block, then the game was basically over. But It was a very fun Idea! if only we were allowed to build more....

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05pm

What an awesome idea! Great use of the theme! I love multiplayer games in any form.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Cookie Clicker + Minecraft + Isometric = <3

That is, if it weren't for all the griefers and people with no aesthetic sensibilities.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I like that you took a jab at persistent world multiplayer! It's certainly more fun with friends. My only gripe would be that I wish I could have some indicator which blocks belonged to me, and which I can't interact with.

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice job

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Why... why level 7 blocks are fancier than level 8

Polyganz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Cool idea but also very little gameplay because I'm not going to spam my friends just so I can place more blocks.

Cthulhu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Wow wow wow! This is brilliant! Seriously. I am sad there is no way to get more blocks other than having some friends. Very good job. 5/5.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Nice idea - it's pity that blocks cannot be placed in mid-air, connected only to another block by their side - to allow building of gates/etc... Good work for 48h anyway ;)

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I LOVE the idea! This game should be extended. I can't wait to see what the players will do :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Ohh! Finally I managed to play! :D Hahah I LOVE THIS! :D

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:16am

Decided to write 'Joe' at the top right. Neat game and interesting use of concept. 5 stars. Very nice work.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:33am

Nice concept, I would like to see this going further and with more players! ^^

Atridas says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:37am

Nice concept. There isn't obviouslly much to do :-D

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:01pm

? only one?

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice idea! It's quite similar to our own, Monocraft.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Really interesting entry - nice work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]