December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tumbling Towers

by angryfacing - Jam Entry

Tumbling towers is a game where you only have one direction to build, up. You also can only choose one material to build with: Wood, Ice, or Stone.

Each material has their own attributes (weight, friction, and more). The goal is to build the tallest tower you can!

Controls:
Left Click - Place a block.
Up/Down Arrow - Move the camera.
Page Up/Down - Zoom in/out.

Oh, something cool happens if you wait a few seconds on the main menu. ;)

If you would like to reset your record, click on the "Stats" button and click reset.

Credits:
Nick Mudry - Programmer, Designer, Sound
Astara Zee - Artist
Benjamin Burnes - Music

If you would like to help with this project after the Ludum Dare/Ludum Jam, please let me know. I really want an artist to help me make this game look good. I plan on making it a free release on iOS/Android in the coming weeks (if time allows).

Questions, feedback, something else? Tweet me on Twitter! @AngryFaing is my Twitter handle.
Alternately, use the contact form on my website: http://mudry.me/contact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1639Coolness17%

Comments

Axyna says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:14am

Wow! I like it!

angryfacing says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:36am

Thanks! :)

Kemoiz says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Great idea!

angryfacing says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Thanks Kemoiz! :)

WBojangles says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Haha, it's addicting. I found it funny just because of the relaxing music without any other sounds, also how the blocks sorta just llleeeeaaan until they fall.

angryfacing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28am

Thanks WBojangles. I got carried away while making it. Was fun to just sit there and make tall towers and watch them wobble until .... boom ... they fall. :P

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18am

Put a smile on my face when watching the whole thing tumble down because of a silly mistake :) I like the music too, very relaxing and enjoyable.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31am

Nice stacking game! Physics worked very well, and it was a lot of fun. Record: 121 meters.

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I like It ! My highest tower was 152 meters. Pretty fine to see the tower falling down. lol.

angryfacing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Thanks for all the awesome comments everyone! Also, looks like Stenol beat my record... heh. :P

stenol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

My record is now 328 meters. You can see a screenshot of stats here :) http://sjs-studio.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/TowerRecord.png

angryfacing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Stenol, That's awesome! :D

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Not bad! The physics were realistic :-)

angryfacing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

soy_yuma: Thanks! Unity's built in physics work pretty well. All I had to do was dynamically set a weight based on it's type and size. Makes the building process much more fun in my opinion. :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21am

Solid game. I wanted to play it for much longer but want to play a bunch more games tonight.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Nice game. :) It's quite addictive, and the music is good too! Sometimes the friction acts a bit funny, but otherwise, good job!

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Nice simple concept, good work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]