December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

E pluribus unum

by IHateATMFees - Jam Entry

A simple puzzle game where you have to make a number of shapes out of a single grid. You get credit for a match when the entire board matches one (and only one) of the patterns on the right. There are 10 levels eagerly waiting to be solved.

Tips: You can hold down the mouse button while moving the cursor around so you don't have to click on every tile. Also, if you get stuck on level 3 and want a big hint, visit : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/27580898/E-pluribus-unum-Level3Spoiler.txt

Please give it a go and let me know what you think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Innovation(Jam)4.21
#23Fun(Jam)3.88
#42Overall(Jam)3.80
#187Audio(Jam)3.13
#207Mood(Jam)3.07
#270Theme(Jam)2.75
#308Graphics(Jam)3.07
#439Humor(Jam)1.51

Comments

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Your game has a truly innovative mechanic. I wasn't able to play it, though (my Internet connection is too slow).

I'll keep trying to load it.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

That gif was brilliant marketing. I can already tell I love the idea and I'm psyched to get home from work and try this out.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Once I figured out that the shapes can be made from a combination of small squares, and that I can do it in any order the game really opened up.

I completed level 10! Fantastic level of polish, simple but effective sound, lovely art direction but above all really intelligent and elegant puzzle design, a real winner and I've never seen anything like it.

Bravo!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00pm

You can change the name of WINDOWS to WEB, so it's more clear that it's a web version and not standalone.

Pretty tough game. Stuck at level 3. It's different and fun to play though! Tile sounds are good :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

@KumoKario: Thanks, I've changed the label. Once you figure out level 3 the rest of the game opens up.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice mechanic. Be sure to link the Web version on this page.

PyroSneak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Really great puzzle game, kept me entertained for quite a while, completed all 10 puzzles aswell! Great job :D

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Hey good game man, really cool idea. The sounds were also spot on. The only thing I missed was a soothing soundtrack - although the game is fine without any.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I really enjoy this game. but why is this not a possible solution? : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3057562/LD28/ProbablyMeTooStupid.PNG

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

really well made

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

@timtipgames: The idea is that you only get the match if the entire game board matches a pattern.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11pm

The server I'm hosting this on is acting up, so I'm going to reboot the server. Should only be down a few minutes.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Web link should be working again.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I really enjoyed this game. It was challenging but fun at the same time ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Rules are kind of unclear in terms of what counts as satisfying a shape at the beginning. But its a pretty clever puzzle game. I enjoyed it once I figured out how it works.

Jabenjy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Really cool, loved the idea.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Great game, but how do I get past level 3? For the life of me I can't figure it out!

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Fascinating mechanic :D I love games that explore the idea of scale.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Really cool game overall. I agree with the players who feel it's unclear how to satisfy some of the puzzles. I made it through level 3 once but I don't understand how and wasn't able to do it again. Awesome submission. You should really run with this!

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

Fun fun fun! Couldn't get through 3rd level though. Very well done otherwise!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very simple and nice mechanic. Puzzling too! But fun ;)

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

Nicely done, very polished. Great puzzle mechanic. I gave up on level 4 though, and I'm pretty good with puzzles too, or so I tell myself.

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:18am

I had problems with level 3.. however this is very innovative but simple concept, well done

triforcespark says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19am

I wish you had an undo button, it's quite tedious to click 60 tiles...
but overall, a really, really addictive game; you've just created a really unique puzzle game. Now I want more levels.

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19am

This was fun! I could see this scaling up to really big levels with lots of strange shapes.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

I am actually surprised by how much I enjoyed that. It was fun and I got to lvl 7 before stopping. The music notes were a great touch as well.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

@triforcespark: You don't have to click on every tile... you can hold down the mouse button!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

Like the mecanics and the puzzle game. But i'm blocked at the level3. An upgrade could be propose clue or solution.

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33am

Completed. Excellent puzzler! Well done!

flatgub says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

This was too hard for me ;~;
Really fun though!
-Flatgub

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The best puzzle game I've played so far. That's how you design a goddamn game! So satisfying when you figure the correct order to solve a level :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Really liked the sound and atmosphere of the game, took me a while to figure out why i was stuck on a level and how the shapes connected but really fun solving all 10 levels =]

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22am

This was incredibly fun, really pulled me in. Once I figured out level 3 I couldn't help marvelling at the genius of it! And the other levels after that were brain racking, too!(especially with that annoying grey tile :P) Cool and innovative even with the minimalistic gfx. And oh, the chiptunes were lovely xD

sclark39 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:56am

Well done, great sounds. The sounds really add to the experience. I'd suggest peggle-ifying every single square break (and especially pattern match) to make the whole thing even more rewarding, even if you lose. I played first without sound on, but went back and played again. It is quite a bit better with the singing tiles. :)

oxysoft says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:13am

Great idea, but I cannot beat level 3 after 20 minutes, what a waste of my time.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:20am

I got stuck, but managed to get through it. I really dig the concept, and I'd love to see it be fleshed out as a mobile game.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:50am

GENIUS! REALLY REALLY GENIUS! LOVED IT!
I sooooo want that on my phone!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIOhmtngA3k
Here are my first impressions while playing the game for the first time ^^

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:01am

This is officially the only game so far that I've actually came back to play more after recording my first impressions... This is really damn good D: Please make a post-compo iOS/Android version with more levels, I'd buy the heck out of it

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:12am

Aaaand this time I beat it :( I want moar.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:48am

Very very cool puzzler. I liked it very much to play it to the end. Very good levels which are challenging but not frustrating except level 3 which should be explained in the game in my opinion since it holds a core mechanics of the game and not a puzzle, but of course Ludum Dare is the right place to test such decisions.
I like also the nice graphics effects in the otherwise plain graphics.
Very good job!

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:07am

Oh, I really like it! Mechanics seem so good. I'd like more levels! The appearance is also nice.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:32am

The mechanic is really awesome, develop this for mobile devices with a ton of levels, and you'll be rich!!

Dyn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:35am

Don't care about theme, but it's really awesome, dude!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great mechanic. I manage to finish lv 10. Good game!

gene-z says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very Nice game,, keep good work

robhor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very cool puzzle!

michail says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Cool game and very nice execution. I want more levels!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:50am

Very engaging! Best thing you could do for it right now: give it some clearer directions/guidelines, so that people don't have to go read your hint.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Such a simple but fresh game. Probably the most elegantly original entry I've played.

binasa says ...
Jul 21, 2017 @ 3:56pm

What if the volume of this or that table increases unexpectedly. <a href="http://admkermis.ru/Mac/pallikoodam-tamil-movie-video-songs.html">Find it here</a> It can encrypt files to multiple recipients, and has other features such as anonymizing both the sender and recipients of an encrypted file.

binasa says ...
Jul 21, 2017 @ 3:56pm

What if the volume of this or that table increases unexpectedly. Find it here It can encrypt files to multiple recipients, and has other features such as anonymizing both the sender and recipients of an encrypted file.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]