December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Adventure

by PyroSneak - Jam Entry

Hey, so this was my second Ludum Dare.
The game I made was Ninja Adventure, a simplish platforming game where you play as a ninja.
There are two sections, collecting the 4 items (you can only carry one at a time) this really only serves as a tutorial. in the second tutorial you must choose a corresponding Item and fight a boss with it, each boss is similar but different in how you fight it.

Z to jump
X to swing sword
C to use ability
arrows keys to move

if the webplayer is slow or doesn't load, try using one of the download links.

How I think it went:
well for starters I would have entered in the main compo but my internet decided to be poopy and not upload the files in time. I feel the game was buggy and the art was subpar, but as I was learning the tools for this. definitely an improvement from the last time though, which is good.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Humor(Jam)2.06
#359Audio(Jam)2.50
#393Theme(Jam)2.38
#429Mood(Jam)2.40
#433Graphics(Jam)2.56
#448Fun(Jam)2.35
#456Innovation(Jam)2.29
#480Overall(Jam)2.44
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice game guys! We love the ninja games!! :)

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Nice job, although after getting double jump I didn't know what to do.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Nice job, the in-game key labels are much appreciated!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great platformer, the art isn't sub-par at all; certainly I'm worse at art than you :D

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Couldn't figure out how to get past the target thingy. Tried hitting it with my sword but it didn't help. =(

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Like the idea, but the jump feels really weird >_<, and somehow I broke the jump so couldn't jump anymore :/
(and I got the throwing knives without the gravity shift lol)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Victory! Jumping and movement are a little slow for my liking. To kill the big boss, I picked up the gravity switcher and just attacked the back of his eyeball. Nice job!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I figured out the moment when Jago got stucked - it was really unclear that I had to go left. But I got stucked later - when I got throwing knifes, lost ability to jump (even single jump) and kept falling from platform and resetting character...

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Not bad, I couldn't get far it was rather buggy but very nice attempt.

Stals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Awesome game! Rocket Ninjas FTW

van noctar says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Yeah! Very very good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]